Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Being beginner cooks, we made a slight cooking error & burnt the rice! However, it was still DELICIOUS and we ate every last bit of it! Our cooking error occurred due to us deciding we should cook the rice in the skillet, rather than dirtying up a sauce pan! We have no idea what we are doing in the kitchen, but we know we love this recipe! Next time we cook, we'll follow the directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Melinbery's

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used a rice cooker and added frozen vegetables and chicken broth instead of water. I found it to exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was a great side dish! Simple to make and FULL of flavor! I and, more importantly, my fiance both loved it! Just be careful with the liquid...if you don't add enough, it can get pretty dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My mom always made rice pilaf with vermicelli browned in it first. Maybe the definition of pilaf is looser than I imagined because I don't quite understand why this is considered pilaf. Because you brown the onions first? At any rate, this is a nice standard recipe for rice and a nice side dish. It tasted good and I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Not as tasty as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
A little bland but nice and easy - next time I'm going to add a chicken bullion cube and some orzo pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this with grilled fish but I altered it a little. That is the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because I didn't make exactly what was there. I followed previous advice to use 2 cups of broth. I made my broth from 2 boullion cubes. I didn't have onion so I used Lipton onion soup mix. I also added garlic powder because my family loves garlic. It tasted great!! We loved the finished recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
good,easy basic side dish. not special enough for company, but great for everyday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I served this rice beneath herbed feta chicken. I also used long grain organic rice and used the 2 parts broth to 1 part rice method, as another reviewer suggested. It was very good with the tartness of the chicken, however, it would maybe be a little bland for my tastes on the side by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delicious! It will be a favorite at our home from now on. There are 6 in my family, so I doubled the recipe, used short grain rice and put it in my rice cooker....it came out perfect. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States