Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this for sunday night dinner and it did, not go well. I found the rice very dry and that there was not a very strong flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I needed a new way to make rice. I used bouillon cubes and it worked out great. Loved the onions so next time I will add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I thought this was a great and easy recipe. I also added mushrooms. I can't imagine anyone being able to mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I added some chopped mushrooms (as suggested) and upped it to 2 cups broth. Silly me, I used sodium free broth and unsalted butter so it came out a little bland. Next time I will add 1 clove garlic and sautee it with the onions, as well as a pinch of salt. Still, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This is a great basic recipe from which to start, adding and substituting your choice of veggies in the sauteing step. (I prefer onions, celery, green pepper and garlic.) Like other reviewers, I prefer to use long grain rice, using the 1 to 2 ratio of rice to broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very nice side dish. I'm a beginner and this was nice and easy. I did use long grain rice like Lucy said and increased the liquid. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IsisMyCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
very good, although like everyone else it needed 2 cups broth. Also added some dried parsley and shredded carrots. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLooWho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My boyfriend and I love this recipe. I did tweak it a little bit by adding some carrots and mushrooms which in my opinion made it that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisha07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I added carrot, garlic, and fresh mushrooms to this and it was amazing! I'm gonna try to make this with quinoa to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Good recipe - I used Lucy's variation (1 cup long grain rice, two cups liquid). Want to make it look extra fancy with zero effort? Throw in a teaspoon or so of dried parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States