Onion Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
A good basic side dish. Instead of using a skillet and a saucepan, you can add the rice & broth to the same skillet that you sauteed the onions in..less for you to clean up later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
YUM. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I only used a 1/4th of a med/large onion, which might be the same amount as the recipe, or maybe a little more, but it was fine for us. I also didn't have any broth on hand so I used two cups of water and dissolved a bouillon cube in with it all. I simmered for 20 min, which seemed a good time, and poof, delicious! (I also didn't add anything in- I was eating it with shrimp and lobster and didn't want to overpower with too many flavors - the onion was just fine on it's own)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I added garlic and sauteed it with the onion. This was good along side my fried chicken but I don't think it was anything spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Eh not great.. not bad... I threw in chopped mushrooms.. maybe next time Ill use less onion and add in garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was a really great side dish. Due to what I had on hand I used regular long grain rice and upped the cooking liquid to 2 cups as others have done. I also sauteed the rice with the onions as this is the way I always cook my rice. The onions and broth gave this a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My family loved this rice dish. I usually make white rice to go along with the main dish but I was in the mood for variety and found this recipe. Will be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
this was very tasty and extremely easy to make. I sauteed the onion in the same pot I made the rice in to save on dirty dishes. Calrose rice is medium grained, so it comes out ofter and stickier, but that is the way it is supposed to be. The flavour of this dish was lovely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Nice basic rice recipe - I added a whole onion and used 2 cups of the broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Tried this dish for the first time and absolutely loved it. It only makes a little bit of rice though, so I'd recommend doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States