Onion Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I thought this recipe would be bland so I played with it a little. I substituted leeks for onion (which I just happened to have leftover from another dish), added some bacon (again leftover), nutmeg (traditional for quiche), garlic and cayenne to the mix and it turned out fantastic! Oh I also topped the quiche with some thinly sliced tomato before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was a very good, very basic, very quick quiche that could be easily customized. I pretty made as is except I used half & half instead of cream, and on the recommendation of another member I added another egg. I forgot to get swiss at the store so I used 1/4 c. cheddar & 1/4 c. parmesan. NOTE: If you are using a deep dish pie crust this quiche will not be enough to fill the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Simple and delicious. The first time I made it, I thought it was a little dense, so the next time, I put in 1/2 tsp baking powder and it came out beautifully. Vidalia onions were perfect and herbs de Province made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, but I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand and wanted to use them up. I was pleasantly surprised, this turned out fantastic! Based on the other reviews, I did use the equivalent of 4 eggs (actually, 1 cup of Better N Eggs to lower the fat content) and 3/4 cup reduced fat Swiss cheese. I also cooked 5 strips of Morningstar 'fakin' bacon' and crumbled that up and sprinkled it on top of the onions, which I layered in a whole wheat frozen pie crust (pre-baked for 10 minutes at 450 since I like a crisp crust). Then I poured the egg and cheese mixture over the onions and 'bacon' and baked the whole thing until the top was slightly browned. It turned out delicious, such a versatile recipe. You could add almost any kind of meat or even use fake meat as I did. I do think it wouldn't be nearly as good with just the onions and cheese but would be more like an omelette in a crust. The savoriness of the 'bacon' really made this special. And it's so easy, I always thought quiche was difficult but I whipped this up in just a few minutes! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I never liked quiche till I tried this one. You can make it as is or any any kind of veggies you like to it and it comes out great! Just remember to pre-cook you pie shell for 10 minutes if you want a crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
Plain old onion quiche. Maybe this would be a a 5-star recipe if I ate it with fresh strawberries, payaya or mango. I didn't use Vidalia onions; in season, that might have been a treat. I'll make it again if I want to use up onions and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This recipe is great. Everyone who tried it loved it. I made it twice and I think you need 4 eggs. I guess it depends on the pie crust you use though. I also used 1/2 cup of cheese. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This turned out fantastic! I used the No-Roll Pie Crust I recipe and was super impressed with both. Minor changes: I added a clove of garlic when cooking the onions (didn't need a Tbs of butter to saute them just a small amount of non-fat cooking spray). Also added a small amount of chopped cilantro to the eggs. Lastly, I used Muenster cheese instead of Swiss and it was y-u-m-m-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Never made a quiche before, but this one turned out great. It's so quick and easy that I'm sure I'll be making it again soon. You'll want to add some salt, pepper or other seasoning to the egg mixture to bring out the flavor. I made a few additions and substitutions based on what I had on hand. This recipe lends itself to that. Instead of heavy cream, I used some canned evaporated milk, and added a fourth egg as others have suggested. To season, I mixed in a tablespoon of onion soup mix and some black pepper in with the eggs. I used a blend of cheddar and monterey jack cheese since I didn't have any swiss. The texture was spot on, and it received a thumbs up from my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a staple for my recipe book. Its delicious as is and extremely adaptable to whatever you have on hand. I have added bacon, toasted pine nuts, paprika and nutmeg to it with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States