Onion Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
So simple and delicious. I used milk in place of the cream because I didn't have any but kept everything else the same. Turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Simple and delicious. The first time I made it, I thought it was a little dense, so the next time, I put in 1/2 tsp baking powder and it came out beautifully. Vidalia onions were perfect and herbs de Province made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELENDEIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love to cook but time is not on my side. This was easy & quick. Used 4 eggs, added ground pepper & salt to taste, and some real bacon bits. Also, Vidalia onion was the clincher to make this a quiche to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a great basic quiche ratio. I chopped and roasted a red onion with a little spinach and poultry seasoning. I used 1/2 cup shredded cheddar, and crumbled some goat cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made so many changes that I'm not sure it's fair to rate this recipe, but here's my feedback in case it's helpful. To reduce calories/fat, I baked this without a crust. I used 5 eggs as recommended by others. I completely changed the other ingredients--used sauteed mushrooms and spinach, feta cheese, diced kalamata olives, balsamic onions (Barefoot Contessa brand), garlic powder, pepper, paprika, and half 'n half instead of cream. I baked this concoction in a glass pie plate at 350 for 30 minutes. It turned out very well (hubby just devoured it and asked me to make another one). I agree with other reviewers who comment that this is a great base recipe upon which it's easy to build whatever quiche you want. The ratio of eggs to dairy is perfect if you use 5 eggs and 1/2 cup milk/cream. This was a great way to use up ingredients that were in the fridge! Next time I might try using Egg Beaters to reduce the fat further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, but I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand and wanted to use them up. I was pleasantly surprised, this turned out fantastic! Based on the other reviews, I did use the equivalent of 4 eggs (actually, 1 cup of Better N Eggs to lower the fat content) and 3/4 cup reduced fat Swiss cheese. I also cooked 5 strips of Morningstar 'fakin' bacon' and crumbled that up and sprinkled it on top of the onions, which I layered in a whole wheat frozen pie crust (pre-baked for 10 minutes at 450 since I like a crisp crust). Then I poured the egg and cheese mixture over the onions and 'bacon' and baked the whole thing until the top was slightly browned. It turned out delicious, such a versatile recipe. You could add almost any kind of meat or even use fake meat as I did. I do think it wouldn't be nearly as good with just the onions and cheese but would be more like an omelette in a crust. The savoriness of the 'bacon' really made this special. And it's so easy, I always thought quiche was difficult but I whipped this up in just a few minutes! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a staple for my recipe book. Its delicious as is and extremely adaptable to whatever you have on hand. I have added bacon, toasted pine nuts, paprika and nutmeg to it with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was a very good, very basic, very quick quiche that could be easily customized. I pretty made as is except I used half & half instead of cream, and on the recommendation of another member I added another egg. I forgot to get swiss at the store so I used 1/4 c. cheddar & 1/4 c. parmesan. NOTE: If you are using a deep dish pie crust this quiche will not be enough to fill the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This recipe is great. Everyone who tried it loved it. I made it twice and I think you need 4 eggs. I guess it depends on the pie crust you use though. I also used 1/2 cup of cheese. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I loved this receipe it was simple enough for a quick enough for lunch, a light dinner or brunch. I added some cracked pepper, a little salt, nutmeg and some dried italian seasoning. It was hit with my family. I seved it with sauteed brocolini and fresh tomatoes thinly sliced with a few sprinkles of cracked black pepper and lightly salted. It was a hit with my family. I agree with another member would be good smoked salmon or even crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States