Onion Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I (basically) follow this recipe for my first time making quiche... It was wonderful! On the suggestions of other reviewers I added a 4th egg and 1/2 tsp baking powder. I also added finely chopped ham as I had some on hand that I wanted to use up. Even my man (who was skeptical of something called "quiche" lol) really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I made this for my notoriously picky grandmother and she LOVED it. I altered it by adding a can of sodium reduced mushroom pieces. I was feeding several people so I got two deep-dish pie shells, and tripled the recipe ingredients then split it in two to make two deep-dish quiches. It is good warm or cold, and freezes well too! I've just made two more, with mushrooms and I'm trying one with salsa in it since salsa and eggs are tasty. These are to freeze for my work lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carysta

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Yum, love the lightly Caramelized onions! However, this quiche was teeny...looked more like pizza....think I could have gotten away with doubling all the filling ingredients. I did use half and half instead of heavy cream, and I added a squirt of yellow mustard because I love mustard in my eggs. Super yummy, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I'm giving this a 4 out of 5 stars because it's a bit bland, but as other users mentioned, this recipe is VERY adaptable. If you're using this as a base recipe then it could be a 5 out of 5 Like others I used 4 eggs instead of 3. I also used 2% milk instead of cream because it's what I had available. In addition to onions and cheese I added potatoes, leeks, and bacon. I was sure to add salt, pepper, and garlic to taste. It turned out fantastic! I would feel confident adjusting this recipe to suit just about any combination of fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great and easy recipe. I did a few simple changes like other reviewers, I prevailed the pie crust at 400 for 10 minutes, I added 5 fried and crumbled bacon strips, I also substituted half and Hal's and added some fresh chopped garlic chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Like other reviewers have said, I added an extra egg and I added other ingredients I had, such as slices of tomatoes, mushrooms, and little bits of sausage. But this recipe is an awesome starter quiche!! Everyone in my house loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Great easy base recipe for quiche. My son asks me to make this all the time. I add spinach, bacon, and tomatoes. Sometimes I even leave out the onion all together (only because my other son hates onion) and it is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
filling is delicious, this is a very easy recipe, but the filling is insufficient to fill the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
After reading all the reviews, I decided to incorporate the comments: I added salt and pepper to the onions as they were cooking, and also to the egg mixture. I also added another egg. Since I didn't want the added calories of a crust, I just sprayed a cake pan with PAM, and it came out great. The taste was awesome! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I used Vidalia onion added about 1/4 tsp grated nutmeg and about 1/4 tsp chili powder. Instead of mixing the cheese with the eggs I sprinkled it over. It looked beautiful when it came out of the oven but was hard to cut after it cooled. We enjoyed this and I will use it as a base for a spinach quiche next time. I agree it doesn't fill a standard pie dish, but if you use a frozen shell it will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States