Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very simple and very delicious. I used chicken broth instead of water and bullion. Next time I will use the full amount of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty closely. It was okay but I didn't think it was anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My family went nuts over this simple pasta. They were each calling 'dibs' on the leftovers for lunch. After reading the reviews, I did cut back on the olive oil (used 1/4 c) and butter (used 3 TB) and will do so the next time I make it also. There was more than enough oil to cook the onions. I used a one pound box of cut spaghetti to make this dish. We really liked the texture of that pasta with the onions. I served this with 'Easy Chicken Gyro' from AR and we had a delicious meal. The next time I am going to try this with fresh basil rather than dried. The leftovers were just as good as the night the dish was made. That is always a plus in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I made halve the recipe; read the reviews saying it was too greasy, so used just a little of the oil and butter. Used one very large sweet onion. I have a little leftover for lunch tomorrow and may add a garden fresh tomato to it. Everyone enjoyed this quick easy meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a surprising recipe. I can't comment on the amounts of oil and butter because I had already carmelized some onions for another recipe and was using the leftovers. I followed the rest of the recipe and upon tasting felt it was missing something. So I went back and added in some cream and tossed in a good handful of freshly shredded parmesan. I still felt it was missing something so lightly sprinkled on a good quality balsamic on individual servings. That was what made the dish for us. I would suggest that if I had followed the instructions for the onions I would have been disappointed. I think using carmelized onions was significant in how much we liked this recipe. In the description the submitter suggests this recipe just takes minutes but carmelizing onions well takes quite a bit longer than a few minutes. Great change of pace as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this because we had so many onions around and I had to feed a bunch of family and friends. I made so much I thought I would have leftovers for a few days to take to work with me for my lunch. Well, as it turned out, it all went and they were asking for it again soon. They all said this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made the mistake of not putting enough onions in, because I thought it would be too much...NOT! Amazing flavor from such a simple recipe. Made it along with balsamic chicken. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Cut WAY back on the olive oil. I added balsamic and garlic, and this was an amazing recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I used less oil and butter, and less onions too. My husband really loved it and my naturopath told me to eat more onions as I was sulphur deficient, so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balfour_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Came out great...loved the taste of onions with the pasta! Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States