Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I have debated for months on whether or not to try this...Personally, I liked it but I only used 2 onions - which was plenty for me. Yes, they shrink down plenty but I still want my goodnight kiss!! I did add some minced garlic and like another, a splash of white wine (which I added halfway through carmelizing). My daughter wouldn't touch it and my boyfriend picked out half the onions but my roommate and I really enjoyed it - any onion lover would. Not the best but a quick, easy, and tasty dish indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was great, but I did change some things to suit my own personal preferences. I, like everyone else, only used a small amount of oil. I added about 1 cup of onions and one teaspoon of minced garlic to the oil and butter and cooked over medium heat in a saucepan. Then I added the basil, pepper, and chicken broth to the saucepan. Meanwhile I cooked and drained some angel hair pasta. I decided I wanted the sauce to be creamy, so in a smaller saucepan I made a white sauce with 1 cup of milk, 2 tbsp. of butter, and 2 tbsp. of Wondra flour. Once that had thickened I slowly stirred it into the onion mixture. I let it simmer together for a few minutes, added more salt and pepper, then began to spoon the pasta into the sauce until it was just the right consistency. It was so yummy! It was super creamy and my husband loved it. Thanks for the great recipe, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FKM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This recipe has really good flavor--I did add one clove of minced garlic to the onions when they were nearly browned and I served it over spinach linguine. Quite creative too, I would never have thought of using carmelized onions over pasta but it works for me! The only reason I am not giving this recipe a 5-star rating is that in my opinion it has a lot more oil and butter than necessary. It gives it an overly greasy feel. Next time I will cut down on the oil and I am sure it will be more to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMVA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
I first started making this for the times when we were low on groceries or for one of our self-imposed meat-free meal nights. Now I make it simply because we love it so much. This is an absurdly easy to prepare yet deceptively delicious meal. The only change I make is to cut WAY back on the butter and oil (that's the only reason why I ding it by one star); I use just enough butter to grease the pan, and give the onions a little moisture. Oh, I usually use 2 large strong-tasting onions for 2 servings. This is a superb recipe. Thanks so much, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was very tasty. I added broccoli, garlic, shallots and deglazed the pan with white wine. I also used stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jill
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I only used 2 onions as was suggested, and I added in a tablespoon of minced garlic. When the onions were almost done I also added in some broccoli and bean sprouts. I also substituted the water for chicken stock. The only thing I didn't really like about the recipe was how greasy it was. Next time I make this I will probably cut the amount of oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is really good, I used three large onions, which was plenty, and some fresh garlic. When I heat up the leftovers tomorrow, I will saute some mushrooms and add to the mix. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
The simplicity of this recipe is deceiving......it is delicious!!! I made this last week and we loved it. I have onions in the skillet right now to make it again. Thanks for sharing. Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLOODORFLIES
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I make this all the time when i am being lazy ...because it is just so easy. I do tend to use a little less onion, usually 2, and i cut down on the oil so it's less greasy, but this is good and simple stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOODORFLIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Ell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States