Onion Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Amazingly good! You can put anything in this pasta or on this pasta or serve it as a main dish if you aren't married to my meat freak husband or serve it as a side dish. It is just good. I served it topped with Scallop-Topped Portabello Mushrooms from this site and it was ...well amazingly good. I halved the recipe and then cut the olive oil by 1/2 after that (so 2 Tablespoons). I used 2 onions and they were kinda small and it was enough for us. I added 2 cloves of garlic and tossed it with Parmesan. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This is ingenius. Onions? Spaghetti? Yes, please. I added garlic to mine and did not do the whole bouillon cube. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Very simple. Very good! Season to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Hubs called this “a solid performer” but said he wouldn’t call this memorable. While there is no right or wrong on this, all things being subjective, I have to disagree. Taking the time, over low heat, to adequately caramelize the onions gives the dish a rich and assertive flavor with a hint of sweetness. I didn’t bother with the bouillon and I didn’t miss it. Those beautiful, golden onions, the basil and a little garlic provided all the flavor I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Soooo good! Very simple to make but so tasty! I added a clove of chopped garlic towards the end and some red chili flakes (sparingly). Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I LOVE! This recipe and have made it coutless times :) I love onions, so I think the amount is ok but I add more pasta. I use low sodium chicken broth not water,a splash of white wine, I cut back on the oil and butter but I add more extra vergin olive oil at the end if I think I need it, 2 cloves of garlic, italian sesoning, some pepper to taste, and my favorate part! 6 strips of bacon broken into chunks! soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Laplante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
add mushrooms less oil with more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We really enjoyed this pasta! I followed it exactly, except I did add a huge clove of garlic to the onions about halfway through sauteing them, and I added a cup of chicken broth in place of the water and bouillon. This is the second recipe I have made lately that has called for a significant amount of olive oil, and the reviews for both have quite a few people saying it is too much. To each his/her own, but I have to say I think the amount of oil is just perfect for the amount of pasta. Maybe it is because I really dislike dry pasta, I'm not sure, but I love this as is, and will be making it again! Thanks for sharing Jackie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I loved this. No reason not to try it. It is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States