Onion Pan-Fried Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Outstanding! I did not have onion soup mix, but using the general recipe, I added dried minced onion, garlic powder, sea salt and pepper. Good extra-virgin olive oil is important, too. My husband asked that we have this again, next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
What I loved most about this recipe was that it was so quick and easy! I added garlic powder and some salt and pepper to the flour/onion soup mixture for flavor. They came out crispy on the outside (careful not to burn though!) and moist on the inside. Thanks for the idea! I also tried this on chicken, very good...just had to cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was a good dish. In my experience, the onion soup mix and flour mixture didn't offer enough flavor. Once in the oil, it didn't really stick very well. I think I will try vegetable oil next time instead of olive oil. It didn't seem to cook quite hot enough. The meat was done no problem, but the cuts didn't get crispy at all and actually stayed a bit oily. I will try this again. Maybe it's me and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Thank you for this awesome, so easy to make recipe! The ingredients listed coated 6 pork chops for me. After I coated the chops, I lay them in a dish, covered with a plastic wrap and placed it in the fridge for an hour. I also didn't do too good a job in crushing the big onion pieces in the packet, but that worked out well for me. I opened up a canned chicken gravy. While that was heating up, I took the burnt onion pieces out of the oil and mixed it into the gravy. That added an extra punch to the gravy. I served with Fried Rice and steamed broccoli. Next time, I'll try to serve it with tomato and mango salad (diced tomatoes + chopped onion + diced mango + chopped cilantro + juice of lime). This will definitely be a part of the meal rotations list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Good basic recipe, but I added bread crumbs for a little more crunch to the coating. These were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
I was going to give this a low rating but my partner really liked it. It was super easy to prepare, the meat was very moist - my complaint was that I knew I was tasting Lipton Onion Soup mix. I make Lipton's Onion Dip all the time and love it but didn't appreciate that same flavor in the pork chops. It reminded me so much of the dip that I ended up dipping my pork chops in sour cream! So if you like Lipton Onion Soup mix - go for this recipe - it was liked by my guy so I will make it again when I need a quick recipe. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I found this recipe enough for 5 - 6 pork chops. I used bone-in and they were delicious. My husband loved them. I would definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Im not sure i can fairly rate this recipe. I failed to check the temp of the oil first. And therefore i had to cook them alot longer that stated in the recipe. The onion burned and it didnt taste very good at all. I might try again cause i love onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe. Even my picky kids ate them! I had 4 medium boneless chops, so I doubled the flour, but still only used 1 envelope of onion soup mix. I also added a little garlic powder, and black pepper to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was a very quick and easy recipe. I put the ingredients in a bag to coat evenly, then after cooking the chops I added water to the leftover onion and flour mixture, added that to the pan and heated to make an awesome gravy. My picky daughter liked it. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States