Onion Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Just awesome! After reading reviewers saying that the sugar seized up on them, I simply added it later on in the process. Friends and family beg me for jars of this, and its a huge hit at Charity Bake/Cooking Sales as a condiment. I get asked for it every time now. We use it alongside pork, meatloaf, steak, scrambled eggs, etc. It takes awhile to make but well worth the effort. I prefer using Balsamic vinegar over red wine vinegar also. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donkeypoofed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Wow! Delicious. I think I would prefer thinly sliced (&perhaps halved) onions next time. My sugar seized even before I got the onions into the pan but thankfully I read reviews stating that this would melt back out. Mine is very thick--perhaps I overlooked but flavor is great. Next time I'm going to try balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is so good! Used plain old yellow onions (because that's what I had on hand) and it turned out delicious! Gave this four stars because I just changed the way I cooked it - I was nervous to add sugar to hot oil so I added the onions to the oil and let them just start to carmelize. Then I added the vinegar, s+p and brown sugar, and let that cook down to that jam consistency. Yummy! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Super simple and good on everything. Don't worry if your mixture separates as the sugar cooks- it will melt as it browns, just keep stirring. Also, when your onions go in, the sugar might stick to the bottom as it cools- again, just keep stirring. I ran out of red wine vinegar when I made a huge batch the second time around- ended up using about a quarter red wine vinegar, a quarter apple cider vinegar, and half balsamic vinegar. Still amazing. Great, easy recipe that impresses friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katykat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
As others mentioned, once the onions were added the sugar became crystalized clumps. But I turned the heat on low and let it melt on its own. I didn't have Red Wine Vinegar but used Balsamic instead - same amount as called for. I also added red pepper flakes, 4 garlic cloves and some celery seed. Once it cooled down I put it in the food processor. Tastes pretty close to the Sweet Onion sauce Subway uses on their sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annelise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Searched through many recipes and decided on this because it was easy. WOW!! It's a keeper. I also agree with another reviewer,next time will chop onions smaller. I'd suggest a 1/4" dice. Mine were 1/2" so halfway through the cooking process, I used a hand masher and mashed them finer. Only had 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar so used apple cider vinegar to make 1/2 cup. Can't be rushed though, it did take about an hour and half from start to finish and worth the time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
After searching extensively online for an onion jam/chutney recipe, I decided to try this one, as it had only a few ingredients, and I wanted my first venture into onion jam to be an easy one. The end result was delicious, we had it on mashed potatoes for supper, and I will have some tomorrow for lunch on crackers with cream cheese. Being jam, it is a bit sweet, but the tartness of the vinegar balances it out nicely. My only critique would be to chop the onions more finely to make it easier to spread if you want to use it as such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I am making this right now! I had a ton of onions, w/no idea what to do w/them, so I jumped on the internet to look for ideas. Being the internet, there are a million & 1 choices. I've diced & froze several, making a goulash & of course, making Onion Jam...and (obviously ;) chose this recipe. When I 1st saw the recipes I was nah, that doesn't sound vry good but I kept reading more & more & since hubby & I luv onions so much I figured y not?! I did have the same problem that others mentioned about the sugar seizing on me & that was my fault bc I thought that I had the pan way too hot & removed it frm the fire. But, again, as others said it jus took a lil effort & time to get it melted back dwn. I took a sm taste (b4 & aftr) adding the vinegar & it is vry tasty indeed. I can't wait to try it on all kinds of things. If it comes out as well I think its going to :-) I will have to dbl the recipe nxt time (or possibly triple. I jus checked it & it doesn't make nearly as much as I thought it would) TY for sharing ur recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Ive made this a handful of times now,with the only change being 2 tsp minced garlic added. First few times I followed directions exactly as is. The other day I did it a bit differently, and I think it came out better. I sauteed the onions first, and once they turned translucent, I added BROWN sugar to them, and a dash of Worcestershire. I find that this gave it a richer taste, and helped it set up better in the end. If your a fan of caramelized onions, this is a jar to keep in the fridge! Don't be afraid to make chopping onions a family affair, because I guarantee you'll want to make more than one jar (works out be about 7-8 smaller onions per 12 oz jar when cooked down)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is so good! My onions took about two hours to reduce to a thickened consistency. Great caramelized onion flavor. I enjoyed it first with some turkey kielbasa. Will keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States