Onion Elk Roast Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! It's incredible! I haven't been able to find cream of onion soup but I've made it with cream of celery and cream of mushroom and it has been amazing either way! I also add about 1 lb of mushrooms and cut the water down to 1/2 cup to make up for the water the mushrooms add. I usually serve it over egg noodles and it always gets rave reviews and my guests always go back for seconds and thirds! Thank you for this deliciously easy recipe!!! It's a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was easy and great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is incredible! I was lucky to recieve some elk meat and this recipe is perfect for it. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is the best elk roast recipe I've tried. Very flavorful. I'm not a big fan of the flavor of elk but this hid it perfectly. Yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was excellent. I substituted leftover steak for the elk roast and used jasmine rice adding a tablespoon of sourcream on top of each serving w/ a dash of paprika. It was the best dinner we have had in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
If you don't have elk roast, this is really good using round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is excellent! I was cleaning out the freezer of my husband's deer meat getting ready for the new season (didn't have any elk) and ended up using some white tail chops and stew meat (abt 2lbs). I normally always follow a new recipe as written (and would never rate it down if I made changes and didn't like it!) but ended up making a couple changes out of necessity and LOVED the results! I couldn't find the cream of onion soup (have never heard of it either) so I used cream of mushroom. I also used beef broth instead of water and chopped fresh sage leaves instead of rubbed which I was out of. I browned the meat a bit before adding to the crock pot and deglazed the pan with the beef broth to get the browned bits and add more flavor to the dish. Yes, a tiny bit more work but it was SO good! I served it over rice and my husband and little ones loved it. I may try adding some sauteed/browned mushrooms next time... This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was delicious, of course I had to make substitutions for what I had on hand... I used elk stew meat instead of roast, which turned out so tender! and I didnt have cream of onion soup so I used cream of mushroom and added extra onion. I was in a hurry and accidently added sour cream in the beginning,but it still turned out. I also threw in some mushrooms for fun. My husband added some johnnys seasoning when my back was turned, and although it did make it taste better, the recipe was fine without it.I will definitely use this recipe again, maybe next time without the substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steeneke
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Neither my husband nor I like stroganoffs very much but this was very good! Followed it exactly and served over rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very delicious! I didn't have steak seasoning or sage so I omitted those. Used one can of cream of mushroom soup instead of onion. I didn't have a roast so I used ground elk instead. Everything else was the same. Yummy! The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States