Onion Elk Roast Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is excellent! I was cleaning out the freezer of my husband's deer meat getting ready for the new season (didn't have any elk) and ended up using some white tail chops and stew meat (abt 2lbs). I normally always follow a new recipe as written (and would never rate it down if I made changes and didn't like it!) but ended up making a couple changes out of necessity and LOVED the results! I couldn't find the cream of onion soup (have never heard of it either) so I used cream of mushroom. I also used beef broth instead of water and chopped fresh sage leaves instead of rubbed which I was out of. I browned the meat a bit before adding to the crock pot and deglazed the pan with the beef broth to get the browned bits and add more flavor to the dish. Yes, a tiny bit more work but it was SO good! I served it over rice and my husband and little ones loved it. I may try adding some sauteed/browned mushrooms next time... This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFarmerJen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
If you don't have elk roast, this is really good using round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was delicious, of course I had to make substitutions for what I had on hand... I used elk stew meat instead of roast, which turned out so tender! and I didnt have cream of onion soup so I used cream of mushroom and added extra onion. I was in a hurry and accidently added sour cream in the beginning,but it still turned out. I also threw in some mushrooms for fun. My husband added some johnnys seasoning when my back was turned, and although it did make it taste better, the recipe was fine without it.I will definitely use this recipe again, maybe next time without the substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is incredible! I was lucky to recieve some elk meat and this recipe is perfect for it. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is the best elk roast recipe I've tried. Very flavorful. I'm not a big fan of the flavor of elk but this hid it perfectly. Yummy and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
it's o.k. not a knock your socks off like some of the other reviews implied. not a keeper for me. my hubby gets an elk almost every year and I've still not found any better way to cook it than in chili! sorry, nice try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this with cream of celery since I did not have the cream of onion. The flavor was excellent, but the meat was very tough, even after 8 hours of slow cooking. We had to cut it up and serve it like a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was excellent. I substituted leftover steak for the elk roast and used jasmine rice adding a tablespoon of sourcream on top of each serving w/ a dash of paprika. It was the best dinner we have had in awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
i used deer meat and did'nt have time to slow cook it, so i threw everything "except the sour cream" in a pan and simmered it for 2 hours then added the sour cream and simmered another 30 minutes. it turned out great. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was easy and great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States