Onion Elk Roast Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! My father in law is big on hunting so we are always getting sent home with some kind of game. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out just like it's described. Had it the first night with noodles and the leftovers with mashed potatoes using the sauce as gravy, so good! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hutto, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
It was way gamey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
It's hard for me to rate this. I made the recipe with only the following changes: used cream of mushroom soup (not sure what cream of onion is), and added some sautéed mushrooms to the crockpot. I served this with mashed potatoes. It was a good stroganoff but I realize now that elk meat is just not for me. I thought the meat, although tender has a strange texture and not a great flavour. I won't eat again, its just not something I enjoyed - but the recipe was a good one, and if you like elk meat, perhaps this is a nice way to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Very tasty! This is the first Elk Roast I've made. I wasn't paying attention and added the sour cream in at the beginning, Still tasted great! I did add some additional water as well and carrots about half way through cooking. Served over wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjwellscvt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! It's incredible! I haven't been able to find cream of onion soup but I've made it with cream of celery and cream of mushroom and it has been amazing either way! I also add about 1 lb of mushrooms and cut the water down to 1/2 cup to make up for the water the mushrooms add. I usually serve it over egg noodles and it always gets rave reviews and my guests always go back for seconds and thirds! Thank you for this deliciously easy recipe!!! It's a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very delicious! I didn't have steak seasoning or sage so I omitted those. Used one can of cream of mushroom soup instead of onion. I didn't have a roast so I used ground elk instead. Everything else was the same. Yummy! The hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steeneke
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Neither my husband nor I like stroganoffs very much but this was very good! Followed it exactly and served over rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I used moose meat and it was great also. Used cream of mushroom soup and the taste was awesome! I need all the help I can get using up all the moose meat we have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobiquelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
i used deer meat and did'nt have time to slow cook it, so i threw everything "except the sour cream" in a pan and simmered it for 2 hours then added the sour cream and simmered another 30 minutes. it turned out great. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was easy and great tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Erica's Delicious Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Come home to a rich, hearty slow-cooked pot roast.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States