Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This recipe is amazing. We were trying to figure out if we wanted pasta or rice to accompany this, but after making it the first time slices of french bread are the way to go. It is perfect for soaking up all the left over deliciousness left over. The leftovers were good, just be aware that the longer the sun-dried tomatoes sit the stronger the flavor becomes. We will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Delicious, cook in skillet. Use a tomatoes instead of sun dried. After brown in really hot pan, cook in oven for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This recipe was really good. I had to substitute red peppers for the sun dried tomatoes but other wise that is the only change I made. The sauce never really thickened but it didn't matter it was so good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Pretty good, but the basalmic flavor is strong. I used vegetable stock (b/c that is what I had). I also used chicken breast instead of the legs to decrease the fat content. Other short cuts included minced garlic instead of cloves. Lastly, I sauteed some spinach into it at the end (so it doesn't burn). I served this over bow-tie pasta. It is a lot of acid with the vinegar, and sundried tomato. I added some parmesan cheese to help cut all the acid as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe was okay. The chicken was juicy but no very flavorful. I ended up eating the onions from the sauce and no very much chicken. I enjoyed the sauce very much as did my husband, so I may have to find a way to use it in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian2563

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good, but I had to alter it a bit and I would change a few things for the future. I'm only giving this a 4 because some things didn't work as expected. I changed the recipe serving to 4 and used boneless chicken breasts instead. I sauteed the onions on medium, not on low as suggested because it was taking too much time. When it called for adding garlic I added 4 sliced fresh mushrooms, too. I tried thickening the sauce as stated, but it wasn't working. Therefore I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I found that the amount of sun-dried tomatoes made the sauce a bit too sweet for me so in the future I would maybe use 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup. The amount of sauce was a lot so in the future I would probably make this and put it over white rice. Otherwise cutting the sauce to half would probably work too. Overall it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julianrdunn
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Everyone chowed down on this recipe! I will definitely be adding this to one of my favorites. I did not change it an anyway in terms of ingredients, but my method was a bit different. After sauteing the onions and garlic, I removed them from the pot. I figured to try and brown the chicken along with the onion and garlic would result in the vegetables being burned. I reintroduced those two ingredients when I combined the chicken stock and vinegar. I also added the sun-dried tomatoes at this time because it seemed to make more sense to add them to the sauce, then pour over the chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julianrdunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
So good! Added the tomatoes while the chicken was cooking to soften a bit and added a little lemon juice and Dijon mustard to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious! Will most definitely be making this again - hubby LOVED it! Used six skinless chicken thighs, as we prefer dark meat. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, so substituted a drained can of petite diced tomatoes (substituted the drained juice for some of the broth). Also, I doubled the onions, because we love onions! Others have suggested mushrooms, which I think would be delicious, but didn't add them, as DH doesn't like them. Used a little corn starch to help with the thickening process of the balsamic-broth mixture. Lengthened the cooking time to 1 hour, as my chicken was only halfway thawed, and it came out fall-off-the-bone tender, and really juicy. Served over jasmine rice - FABULOUS! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States