Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
loved the recipe and expanded on it - add brocolli,toasted pine nuts -when done add it to cooked fusilli pasta and add a dollop of goat cheese-it's fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
This recipe sounds good from start to finish, and while it isn't a "quick" meal, it isn't incredibly time-consuming, either. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts sliced in 1-inch strips instead of leg quarters, and they turned out great. My husband isn't a "leg man"! Anyway, the next time, I'll omit the sun-dried tomato, as they remained leathery, even after simmering a while with the onion mixture. My 11-month old enjoyed the chicken, but my 3 1/2-year old was repulsed by the smell of the simmering Balsamic vinegar and wouldn't try the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was very tasty. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and I cut the onions into larger chunks. The sauce helped to keep the chicken moist while it cooked. I used the extra broth mixture to make couscous as a side dish and it was unbelievably good! Good low carb meal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I used the chicken quarters instead of breast. Next time I will us the chicken breast. Definetly needs to cook on medium. I cooked it too high and burned the onions. I will try this again though, but with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
3 words..Oh My God! This recipe is fabulous. The onions and garlic take over the place, but the balsamic vinegar mellows the flavour. Used chicken breast instead of thighs and they were tender and juicy. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Really great recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
This was delicious. Some parts of the recipe did not work out exactly as the recipe explained. For example the chicken took much longer to cook then 20 minutes and the balsamic vinegar/chicken stock mixture never really thickened for me. I added the sundried tomatoes to the balsamic vinegar mixture and they were soft by the time the dish was done. Thank you for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This was very good. Next time I will use slightly less vinegar and a bit more olive oil. I think this would also be a great marinade for baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I loved the sauce even though it didn't thicken for me. The chicken on the other hand took much longer to cook and really didn't have a lot of flavor. Next time I'll use boneless, skinless breasts and maybe even cut it up like one of the other users did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This was pretty good but for as much balsamic that was in there, I was suprised it didn't have a ton of flavor. I think it needed to go over mashed potatoes to catch all the flavor. One note - it doesn't say how long this recipe takes - the onions take a very long time to caramelize and the sauce doesn't ever really thicken. I wasn't sure how long I was supposed to let it simmer before it thickened and it was evaporating fast so I gave up after about 10 minutes. I also forgot to cover the dish before it went in the oven so I'll need to try this again - maybe I'll add mushrooms next time. Thanks for an interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States