Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I did as suggested by others, put a drizzle of balsamic and chicken broth over the chicken, baked it and reduced the sauce on the stove. Then poured it on top when chicken was done and cooked it another 5 minutes - fabulous~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHIEV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe, although I doubled everything for the sauce and had about 9 leg quarters. The sauce didn't thicken, but it was wonderful. I added quite a bit of fresh ground pepper and cooked it for 30-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie R. Hargrove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
It was okay. The sauce didn't thicken without adding cornstarch. It took about 1/2 hour for the chicken to cook. It was moist but didn't soak up the sauce flavor. Flavor was just average, even though I added the butter, mustard and threw in some mushrooms. I ended up with about 2 cups of sauce left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I never measure anything so I eyeballed the recipe and used breasts instead of legs. My husband loved it. I think next time I will add basil as another reviewer suggested. The chicken was really moist and the sauce was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I love balsamic vinager so I thought this was very good! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Made this last night wow it was so easy and sooo good..I also added some djion mustard..Will be making this often thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I added a couple of teaspoons of honey to cut the sharpness of balsamic vinegar (I often do this when using balsamic vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very good. I made it for my parents who are expert cooks and they loved it. She too is making this dish for her guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
To solve the thickening issue, roll the chicken in seasoned flour (salt and pepper), I used chicken breast, cooked in a little olive oil until browned. Remove the chicken and then soften the vegetables, I used green and red pepper as well about 2 tsp garlic, minced. After the vegetables are translucent add the stock and the vinegar (I cut the vinegar in half). I just simmered on the stove top about 15 to 20 minutes. The sauce thickened no problems. Good idea just some fine tuning for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
The balsamic flavor overpowered everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States