Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We truly enjoyed this recipe. The flavors merry so well together! Think I might try this atop of rice next time instead of noodles though. Did add the touch of dijon as others recommended and thought it was a good addition as well as half the amount of onion. Definitely found a place in my recipe drawer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I didnt realize this was going to be so time consuming.. not hours but longer than I expected. I cooked for the firehouse and used boneless skinless chicken breast, and had some leftover sweet red peppers that i used in place of the tomatoes. The stock/vinegar mixture never did thicken for me, and it was boiling/simmering for quite a long time. I had pounded the chicken breasts flat, which cut down on the baking time but I thinnk this would take much longer with thicker chicken. The sauce was very good to soak up with bread, but the chicken itself was actually pretty bland, it didnt seem to absorb any of the flavor of the vinegar or onion. I will try this again when I have more time to baby it, because i love vinegar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarpolly
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe to serve with plain white rice...and leftovers (if any) can be served in pita bread pockets, lettuce and tomatoes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very delicious!! I added mushrooms and instead of the sun dried tomatoes, i used fresh mini tomatoes. My favorite balsamic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatsumiNL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was delicious. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, so I substituted dried cherries and it worked like a charm. FYI: The chicken took a little longer in the oven than directed and I also increaded the heat on the onions when they were carmelizing because it was going slowly on low. Would definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
You and many, many, many thousands of other cooks have "invented" this recipe. To all out there who haven't made this recipe yet, it's REALLY hard to make this taste bad, so experiment with your spice rack and impress your lover, kids, family. Also, one note...the longer you cook it, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This dish came out great! I put rice in first, covered it with water, then the chicken and the sauce. My husband and guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was ok, nothing special. It really needs something to brighten it, maybe lemon juice and rosemary? I followed the directions and never got the sauce to thicken, so I added butter and dijon. But the sauce still didn't thicken much. In all fairness, I'd doubled the recipe. Even accounting for the extra ingredients, the bake time was way off. With 4 chicken quarters, my bake time was ~45 minutes. We served over rice; noodles would be ok too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I just made this for the first time because of the favourable reviews and served it along with Sarah's Rice Pilaf on this site. Both were delicious! Chicken was moist and flavourful. I just threw whole garlic cloves into the onion mixture instead of mincing them, which can turn them bitter when cooked for a long time. When they roast in the oven, they become sweet and tender. Both recipes are definite keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennthetraveler
Home Town: Aylmer, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Easy to make. Not time consuming at all. I added extra garlic. continually basted the chicken, didn't have sun dried tomatoes so they were left out. Still tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States