Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Just ok - I was looking for a South Beach (phase 1) friendly meal, and thought I'd give this a try. It needs something to round out the flavors. Also, 1/2 c balsamic vinegar was too much, and I found the sauce a bit acidic. I'd like to try again by reducing the balsamic to 1/4 c and adding some spices...maybe rosemary? Thyme?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was great. I might cut back the balsamic next time. My husband LOVED this meal! Will make again. I served with Zucchini soup and Mushroom rice. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larose825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Troutville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Have made this recipe several times, with great success. It's very flavorful, so watch out if you don't like strong flavors: we thought it was perfect! Two modifications (I love to experiment): used sundried tomatoes that were in a jar w/olive oil & spices so may have altered the flavor some. Then cut the meat in medallions & cooked in the pan with the sauce for about 15-20 on the stovetop. Still juicy & flavorful. Also made a full batch of the 'sauce' for only 1 lb. of chicken. Next time will probably reduce it, as I ended up tossing the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyMK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Leona Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
It was good, but the sauce didn't really thicken until after the left-overs were refrigerated. It also took a while to caramlize the onions. Don't get me wrong, it was good, but for as long as it took, I expected it to be a little better. I will probably make it again, but am more prepared for the prep & wait time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The chicken was not flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I did not have sun-dried tomatoes . so i drained a can of diced tomatoes. Boy what a wonderful taste this is truly a keeper and we will be making this one often. I had to leave while this was in the oven so i turned it down to 275 and was gone longer then i had hoped. but i tell you it was moist n tender what a wonderful flavor. Thank you for sharing. 8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firedancer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very delicious!!! Thankyou so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was fabulous!! I served it over plain white rice, which absorbed the flavors of the sauce beautifully! Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Tasty. Increased this to six servings. Divided the stock and vinegar in half and cooked the chicken in some, and used the rest to make a the sauce on the stove-top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We truly enjoyed this recipe. The flavors merry so well together! Think I might try this atop of rice next time instead of noodles though. Did add the touch of dijon as others recommended and thought it was a good addition as well as half the amount of onion. Definitely found a place in my recipe drawer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States