Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was really good, but I had to alter it a bit and I would change a few things for the future. I'm only giving this a 4 because some things didn't work as expected. I changed the recipe serving to 4 and used boneless chicken breasts instead. I sauteed the onions on medium, not on low as suggested because it was taking too much time. When it called for adding garlic I added 4 sliced fresh mushrooms, too. I tried thickening the sauce as stated, but it wasn't working. Therefore I used cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I found that the amount of sun-dried tomatoes made the sauce a bit too sweet for me so in the future I would maybe use 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup. The amount of sauce was a lot so in the future I would probably make this and put it over white rice. Otherwise cutting the sauce to half would probably work too. Overall it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julian R Dunn
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Everyone chowed down on this recipe! I will definitely be adding this to one of my favorites. I did not change it an anyway in terms of ingredients, but my method was a bit different. After sauteing the onions and garlic, I removed them from the pot. I figured to try and brown the chicken along with the onion and garlic would result in the vegetables being burned. I reintroduced those two ingredients when I combined the chicken stock and vinegar. I also added the sun-dried tomatoes at this time because it seemed to make more sense to add them to the sauce, then pour over the chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julian R Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
So good! Added the tomatoes while the chicken was cooking to soften a bit and added a little lemon juice and Dijon mustard to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious! Will most definitely be making this again - hubby LOVED it! Used six skinless chicken thighs, as we prefer dark meat. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, so substituted a drained can of petite diced tomatoes (substituted the drained juice for some of the broth). Also, I doubled the onions, because we love onions! Others have suggested mushrooms, which I think would be delicious, but didn't add them, as DH doesn't like them. Used a little corn starch to help with the thickening process of the balsamic-broth mixture. Lengthened the cooking time to 1 hour, as my chicken was only halfway thawed, and it came out fall-off-the-bone tender, and really juicy. Served over jasmine rice - FABULOUS! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Needed a little tweaking but overall tasty. Added some bouillon made a few other changes as per previous reviews. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This took a little longer to prepare than I thought due to caramelizing the onion, but it was well worth the wait. Nice, slightly tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Quite good combo of flavors. I also added some dijon mustard to the sauce prior to adding to the chicken, but it still didn't thicken that much. I was worried that the balsamic would be overpowering, but it wasn't. I used sun-dried tomatoes in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used chicken breasts cut into smaller thinner pieces...this was so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was sooo good! I made 50% more sauce and served it over penne pasta. I also used boneless skinless chicken and added 2 Tbsp butter and 1 Tbsp spicy sweet mustard to the sauce right before pouring it over the chicken. def will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karolyn122

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States