Onion Chicken in Balsamic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Delicious! Will most definitely be making this again - hubby LOVED it! Used six skinless chicken thighs, as we prefer dark meat. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, so substituted a drained can of petite diced tomatoes (substituted the drained juice for some of the broth). Also, I doubled the onions, because we love onions! Others have suggested mushrooms, which I think would be delicious, but didn't add them, as DH doesn't like them. Used a little corn starch to help with the thickening process of the balsamic-broth mixture. Lengthened the cooking time to 1 hour, as my chicken was only halfway thawed, and it came out fall-off-the-bone tender, and really juicy. Served over jasmine rice - FABULOUS! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Needed a little tweaking but overall tasty. Added some bouillon made a few other changes as per previous reviews. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This took a little longer to prepare than I thought due to caramelizing the onion, but it was well worth the wait. Nice, slightly tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Quite good combo of flavors. I also added some dijon mustard to the sauce prior to adding to the chicken, but it still didn't thicken that much. I was worried that the balsamic would be overpowering, but it wasn't. I used sun-dried tomatoes in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used chicken breasts cut into smaller thinner pieces...this was so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was sooo good! I made 50% more sauce and served it over penne pasta. I also used boneless skinless chicken and added 2 Tbsp butter and 1 Tbsp spicy sweet mustard to the sauce right before pouring it over the chicken. def will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karolyn122

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
The dinner took a long time to cook which would have been fine if it had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Loved this. It was easy and quick to make. I made it with drumsticks in error (I did not label the freezer bag oops). It smelt amazing in the house as it was cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Whether it was because he read the reviews on this one & heard that other husbands raved or not.... my husband raved too. & he doesn't usually do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Was so good, my boyfriend told me I should make it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByteSized

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States