Onion Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was really good!! We had an old family recipe at Christmas called "Onion Shortbread" and this was so close to that recipe. Very rich. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I had tried a recipe like this one years ago and really liked it. I hadn't realized until following the directions that this had a "topping" which was different than my old recipe. I have a picky family and one family member who doesn't like sour cream or onions so I hid them inside. I only had a cup sour cream so I added about 1/2 cup cream cheese... I know huh! My picture will not accuratley portray what this recipe should look like because I used yellow cornbread mix and yellow regular corn, not creamed, I did sprinkle more cheese the last 5 minutes. ~ Loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very easy and delicious. I've gotten many complements and requests from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was awesome. I made some chili and rice and needed something to go with it and this was perfect. I only added about 1 C of sour cream but other than that I followed the recipe. Definitely will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Wow! this is not for the faint of heart or those on a diet. The flavor is truly rich and decadent and I loved! it every bite. To alleviate my guilty pangs I used light sour cream, lowfat buttermilk and lowfat cheese. I was worried it wouldn't bake properly however it came out fine. It was a big hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Wonderful flavor, I cut the recipe in half except for the onion (used a whole one) and cooked it in a 8x8 pan. Loved it! This would be a good side dish for a holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought this was very good...a nice change on cornbread. I loved the layer of fluffy/puffy cheese on top. I used 1/2 the sour cream as suggested in earlier reviews.....I don't think it would have matter either way. Added geen chilis...awesome! Make sure you cook it all the way or it could be mushy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great,my family loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was delicious and decadent. The topping remained kind of liquidy (though I only used one cup of sour cream), which was a bit deceptive when trying to determine if the bread was done. Everyone loved it! I also added a can of chopped green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very tasty. I didn't find white cornbread mix, so just used yellow. I scaled down by half and baked in an 8x8 baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States