Onion Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Wow! this is not for the faint of heart or those on a diet. The flavor is truly rich and decadent and I loved! it every bite. To alleviate my guilty pangs I used light sour cream, lowfat buttermilk and lowfat cheese. I was worried it wouldn't bake properly however it came out fine. It was a big hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Very tasty. I didn't find white cornbread mix, so just used yellow. I scaled down by half and baked in an 8x8 baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very easy and delicious. I've gotten many complements and requests from friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was really good!! We had an old family recipe at Christmas called "Onion Shortbread" and this was so close to that recipe. Very rich. Didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I had tried a recipe like this one years ago and really liked it. I hadn't realized until following the directions that this had a "topping" which was different than my old recipe. I have a picky family and one family member who doesn't like sour cream or onions so I hid them inside. I only had a cup sour cream so I added about 1/2 cup cream cheese... I know huh! My picture will not accuratley portray what this recipe should look like because I used yellow cornbread mix and yellow regular corn, not creamed, I did sprinkle more cheese the last 5 minutes. ~ Loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
While the flavour was quite good, two cups of sour cream is too much....seemed to overpower the texture of the cornbread. Plan to tweak this one again, reducing sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berala, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I thought this was very good...a nice change on cornbread. I loved the layer of fluffy/puffy cheese on top. I used 1/2 the sour cream as suggested in earlier reviews.....I don't think it would have matter either way. Added geen chilis...awesome! Make sure you cook it all the way or it could be mushy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was delicious and decadent. The topping remained kind of liquidy (though I only used one cup of sour cream), which was a bit deceptive when trying to determine if the bread was done. Everyone loved it! I also added a can of chopped green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe was great,my family loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
How enjoyable this recipe was.. my guest couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States