Onion Cheese Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Disclaimer: I quadrupled the recipe, so maybe that affected things. I liked this recipe, although these were really muffins, not biscuits. They were very moist like a muffin, not dry like a biscuit. I added a couple extra minutes to the cooking time, but I think I would add more in the future to get the cheese on top to be crispy. I also think they would be tasty with jalapenos either instead of, or in addition to, the onions. I think I'll try a small original recipe batch before I get to tweaking too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These are fantastic! The onion flavor is subtle, not overpowering at all. I put them in raw, just as the recipe said. The only change I made was that I didn't put the cheese on top (it does get hard sometimes) and I had no poppy seeds. I stuck to the recipe for the most part and would definitely make them again. Oh, and I made 12 muffin sized biscuits out of this and they were plenty big. Six might be huge, I would think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this recipe for a quick biscuit to go with our dinner the other night. I put the 1/2 cup of cheese in the batter, along with most of the poppy seeds, reserving some to sprinkle on top. I did not use the cheese on top of the biscuits because I think it can sometimes become too hard. I did brush the tops with some beaten egg that I had leftover from another recipe, which gave these a nice sheen. This produced really big biscuits, probably too big, so I might either cut back on the ingredients, or make a few more next time. I would also add a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I always find it a lttle funny when reviewers always feel like they have to change up a recipe before they even know if it's any good as written. Well, this one is PERFECT as written! I'm sure garlic would be a fine addition to these, but if you want garlic biscuits, then make another recipe like the Cheddar Bay biscuit recipe on this site. These have a subtle, just-enough onion flavor that's not overpowering. Great and easy recipe--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These are so SO good!! and easy to make. I added a table spoon of garlic and they tasted like the biscuits that they give you at red lobster! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Loved it, added garlic, and sprinkled with garlic salt after putting them into the muffin tin. I also used the Biscuit baking mix recipe from this site instead of the store bought. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These were really good! I will add something to the dough, like garlic or onion powder, to boost the flavor next time, but as written they are still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a great recipe. I sauteed the onions before adding them to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I made my own "baking mix" because I like to control what ingredients goes into what I make, and I think that stuff is just a waste of money. (For the mix: 3/4 cup unbleached white flour, 3/4 cup of stone ground wheat flour, 1 1/2 tbsp Smart Balance Light Buttery Spread, 1/2 tsp salt) I also added 1 clove of fresh minced garlic, 1 tbsp of Flax seeds (great tasting source of fiber), and 1 tsp of gluten (makes it nice and fluffy) to the biscuit dough. I didn't have Poppy seeds, so I sprinkled the tops with Sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvish-Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States