Onion Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Found this recipe as I was looking for something to do with the 50lbs of onions that my husband brought home. I was a bit skeptical at first, but it smelled terrific and the taste was amazing! Very simple recipe, but great flavor!! Took it to a potluck dinner and the pan was scraped clean! My family begged me to make it again the next day because some of them didn't get it at the potluck. The only change I made was to use crushed Cool Ranch Doritos instead of the crackers, so that the recipe would be gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I got this recipe from my Aunt recently and it really is simple and delicious. I doubled the recipe and I can't even describe what a hit this was with mine AND my hubby's family! The butter (use a real stick of butter not margarine!!) sour cream and parmesan cheese turns into the yummiest sauce you could imagine for vidalia onions! All I added was minced garlic, freshly ground sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Also, make sure to use a few extra crackers in the topping and mix the cracker crumbs with a little butter, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I have made this several times now. The only thing different I did, was I diced most of the onions up, put a layer of onion rings on top. If you don't have Ritz crackers, you can use regular saltines crushed with a little melted butter. You can't tell the difference when it is baked. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this as a side dish last night with dinner and DH and I thought it was pretty good. I did modify the orignal recipe slightly by using only 3 large onions (which was the perfect amount IMHO), I used about 15 Ritz crackers on the top; I also dotted the top of the casserole with about 1 T. of butter. It was a good dish, but it's VERY rich, a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great easy recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and used a tsp of garlic. Family loved this. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Wow! That's what everyone in my family said about this wonderful side dish. It's simple to make, I always have the ingredients on hand and what seems like a simple combination of ingredients makes an absolutely delicious casserole. I'm planning on making this for Thanksgiving and wowing the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lodgepole, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was just "average" for us. A friend had made this dish at another gathering and hers was much better. She mentioned using mayo, so her recipe must have been different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
A quick easy side that had the wife going back for seconds. I increased the cracker count to get a bit more crunch in the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jofis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keysville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Circleville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Not exactly weight-watchers, but fabulous enough to make an exception. It disappeared so quickly, there was none left for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made it as directed. I thought it was a very simple and yummy side dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States