Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This bread has wonderful flavor and consitency. Great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This recipe turned out great. The smell during the baking time was incredible and it was not difficult to make. I think this is a nice change to serve with dinner instead of rolls or biscuits. I will definetely prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
AWESOME!!!!this was a very easy and tasty bread!!! my husband said it was the best!! the only thing i did different was to use all-purpose flour rather than bread flour(because i didnt have any)....THIS IS A KEEPER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is very good! We made this recipe into onion buns for burgers and they were excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This is an old family recipe of mine, too! I grew up with my dad baking this bread (I'm in my forties). My copy is so yellowed and torn it was difficult to read; I had to use a magnifying glass and still had to guess a little. Was going to make it today and thought I'll just see if it is online. Well, what do you know! I don't have to guess - this is the exact same recipe, so I know how good it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I made rolls instead of bread. They were the best rolls I've ever made. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This onion bread is the BEST bread i've made in our machine yet!!!...We make it at least once a week and have to make two loaves because my husband and I will devour the first before it finishes cooling!!!!...Just make the dough with the dough cycle in the machine and transfere to a 9x5 loaf pan!!!! This recipie has just the right amt of onion and its a moist bread, not dry like alot of breads are!! Thanks for the recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
The best onion bread I have ever had! We love to make this...very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I finely chopped a small onion and browned it in a non-stick pan instead of using the minced onion, which I was assuming might be dried minced onion. I also couldn't accept that no kneading was indicated, so I kneaded in the rest of the flour and a bit more since the dough was still sticky. This took about 10 minutes. I was skeptical when my dough didn't seem to rise as much as it said it would. I formed it into small balls for dinner rolls using a glass pie plate. I was alarmed when they didn't rise much again. But in the oven they rose as they baked, and although they weren't light and airy like most dinner rolls, they were soft and delicious and very buttery. Our guests devoured them, and so did my 6 year old daughter. I will be making these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Absolutely delicious. And the onion flavor is not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States