Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I followed the directions but did not like the results too much. It was kind of heavy, and the taste was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This onion bread is the BEST bread i've made in our machine yet!!!...We make it at least once a week and have to make two loaves because my husband and I will devour the first before it finishes cooling!!!!...Just make the dough with the dough cycle in the machine and transfere to a 9x5 loaf pan!!!! This recipie has just the right amt of onion and its a moist bread, not dry like alot of breads are!! Thanks for the recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This is an old family recipe of mine, too! I grew up with my dad baking this bread (I'm in my forties). My copy is so yellowed and torn it was difficult to read; I had to use a magnifying glass and still had to guess a little. Was going to make it today and thought I'll just see if it is online. Well, what do you know! I don't have to guess - this is the exact same recipe, so I know how good it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
AWESOME!!!!this was a very easy and tasty bread!!! my husband said it was the best!! the only thing i did different was to use all-purpose flour rather than bread flour(because i didnt have any)....THIS IS A KEEPER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very tasty light bread - not heavy at all. I used 1/4 cup onion and a handful of grated sharp cheddar. I also kneaded it as per any other bread loaf. It made a little too much for one loaf, so I took out enough to also make a couple of rolls. Tip of the day: I always put a 1/4 tsp of ground ginger in my yeast mixture as this makes it work harder and loaves come out lighter. You cannot taste the ginger in the finished loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I made rolls instead of bread. They were the best rolls I've ever made. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This is very good! We made this recipe into onion buns for burgers and they were excellent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
This bread has wonderful flavor and consitency. Great with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
The best onion bread I have ever had! We love to make this...very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This recipe turned out great. The smell during the baking time was incredible and it was not difficult to make. I think this is a nice change to serve with dinner instead of rolls or biscuits. I will definetely prepare this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States