Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
My husband, and I loved this bread! It did make an awesome ham sandwich! I wasn't able to put oregano in it because I ran out, but it was good without it! This is going in the family favorites book.Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
this is great, i made it friday night and sunday it was still soft and moist. very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I make bread quite often and was looking for some new ideas to try. I will definitely make this again. I personally would have liked a stronger onion flavor and it did seem to intensify when toasted. This bread makes for excellent toast. It had a wonderful soft texture as well. My onions burned on top of the bread too, I might wait a bit before putting them on next time. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Ravena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Yum! My family loved this bread. It is slightly sweet with a little tange to it, but does not have an over powering onion flavor. My only complaint would be my onions on top burned. This bread was good with butter right out of the oven, cubed for cheese fondue and the remaining was eaten reheated with red beans and rice. This is also one of the easiest yeast breads I have ever made. Even though it is a yeast bread it has the consistency of a quick bread, strange but it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Let's just be honest, I have never made bread before and was very excited at the prospect of this recipe. I doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves, thinking that it was too time consumming to only yeild one loaf. They actually turned out very well. Surprisingly! For a first timer, a good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I'm not much of a breadmaker and I'd pretty much told my family this one was going to be a disaster but I was in for a surprise! this recipe's wonderful! so nice and chewy with a wonderful aroma... my family gobbled it down in less than an hour! thanks Claudia! I didn't have 'bread flour' on me so I substituted 1tbsp of cornflour for 1tbsp of all-purpose flour/cup of all-purpose flour... it worked just great! I also used olive oil instead of shortening and butter for a healthier bite! it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I can't say I was impressed with this. I didn't think it was moist at all; I found it dry and crumbly, and the taste was bland. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This bread is delicious, and extremly soft, which is nice because many homemade sandwhich breads tend to be a harder texture. Will definatly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was my first time making bread. I don't have a mixer so doing everything by hand was a bit tedious. My dough turned out very sticky so I think I ended up adding about another cup or so of flour. I also didn't have a loaf pan so I just shaped it out on a cookie sheet and baked it. I also added lots of onion to the batter, or else it would have been bland. I chopped up a bunch of green onions, 1 sweet onion, and half a red onion. It did turn out onion-y and my parents liked it. With the changes, I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Just to let you know. My neighbor was upset when her favorite bread was made unavailable at her local shop, so I made this recipe and it was an instant success. This will become a family favorite in my home. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States