Onion Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious! I added onion powder and dried chives because I knew I wanted a strong onion flavor. Perfect texture to this bread and it smelled absolutely amazing while cooking... it was pure torture for my daughter and I, waiting to take it out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
LOVE this stuff. make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Awesome recipe!! First time attempting any kind of bread and it was perfect! Only change I made was to use mostly whole wheat flour. I used about 1 1/2 cups of white and the rest was wh.wheat. I also used smart balance for the shortening and the melted butter. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent bread, thank you! I let my loaf rise 40 min, which was a mistake--had to take some of the dough out and put in muffin pans and then let rise again. I took out enough dough to make 6 muffins, but could have taken out more and it would have been fine, bc it still rose over the pan a bit. I baked as directed and had the muffins in for about 15 min. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was an easy recipe to make... and the bread turned out soft and moist. The only thing I did different was add some onion powder, but I still wished that there would have been a stronger onion flavor. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This has got to be the most delicious onion bread I ever encounter. Fail proof recipe and will be making it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is very nice; it rose nicely and has a great consistency. I think it will make very good sandwiches. I even used about a cup of whole wheat. Warning: it makes a huge loaf... it was threatening to overflow my bread pan. Also note that the onion rings will not stay on top with just the butter... if you want this look, you might want to try an egg wash on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I really enjoyed. Kids would not even try because of the onions but that only meant more for me. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
My family loves this bread but the bread always have the topping onions burnt. Did i do it correctly/.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I would rate this bread 3.5 stars if I could because my DH liked the bread marginally more than I did. I did add more onion to the bread, just a personal preference and instead of oregano, I used some focaccia seasoning. I made a round loaf (instead of rectangular) and the end result was a very moist, cakey bread. We thought it was good, but I'm afraid I've eaten better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States