Onion Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good and simple chicken recipe. There are other equally good and simple variations of this recipes I have made. One I have done is mixing seasoned bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. I have also made it as is, but subtituted french fried onions for the onion soup mix. I think the key is more likely the mayonaise that keeps the chicken tender. I also flatten the chicken slightly, so it cooks evenly. Only downside is that there is no sauce or gravy. **EDIT NOTE: I made again today on the stove and it was even more "tender" and much quicker than baking. I used chicken tenderloins. I didn't have any more mayo so I used a mock buttermilk and let soak for 30 minutes. I then mixed the 1st two ingredients to taste using plain bread crumbs. I heated about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saute pan on medium and cooked on both sides for about 7-8 minutes total. I served this time, like a chicken tender, with Honey Mustard Dressing II also from the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this per the recipe.... it was moist and flavorful. Very easy to make. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and it is AMAZING!! So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This really was good. Key to the coating adhering is to make sure you dry your chicken pieces well. I've used both whole, cut up chicken, and chicken breasts. Both turned out well. I love how easy it is. Takes but a few minutes to coat the chicken then you forget about it for the next 45 minutes or so while you make some side dishes. I forgot to add that I used regular breadcrumbs because that's all I had. I'm going to make this often.Thanks for a great, quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is our new favorite! I did not have panko crumbs so I used Asian Honey Sesami coating instead with the soup mix. I did as suggested with other reviewers, I dried the chicken and did pound it. This was very moist and was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
just DISEMBARKED THE TABLE....MY MAN, MYSELF AND 4 YEAR OLD LOVED IT! THAT'S HARD TO ACCOMPLISH WITH ONE MEAL ;_
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ielle Marie Swan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The best chicken recipe that I have done in quite a while! Wonderful crisp outside and juicy on the inside. I will be making this often. Thanks 4 sharing Tomas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe. For better results, refrigerate the breaded chicken for about an hour. Really helps the panko and onion seasoning to stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Fast, easy, and flavorful. Our family loved this recipe. It was a nice change of pace. Goes great with mac & cheese. I used 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream to give it a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent! I don't rate a recipe if I changed it so you can believe it when I say, I made it as written. Only difference was that I had to cut my chicken breasts into chicken "strips" so I could stretch 3 chicken breasts for 4 people. I do not think that really altered the recipe. These were nice and crispy on the outside and wonderfully tender and moist on the inside. Served with stuffing and gravy with a side salad. Everyone cleared their plates! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCWBUSINESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States