Onion Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is a pretty good and simple chicken recipe. There are other equally good and simple variations of this recipes I have made. One I have done is mixing seasoned bread crumbs and parmesan cheese. I have also made it as is, but subtituted french fried onions for the onion soup mix. I think the key is more likely the mayonaise that keeps the chicken tender. I also flatten the chicken slightly, so it cooks evenly. Only downside is that there is no sauce or gravy. **EDIT NOTE: I made again today on the stove and it was even more "tender" and much quicker than baking. I used chicken tenderloins. I didn't have any more mayo so I used a mock buttermilk and let soak for 30 minutes. I then mixed the 1st two ingredients to taste using plain bread crumbs. I heated about 2 tablespoons of butter in a saute pan on medium and cooked on both sides for about 7-8 minutes total. I served this time, like a chicken tender, with Honey Mustard Dressing II also from the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe. For better results, refrigerate the breaded chicken for about an hour. Really helps the panko and onion seasoning to stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This really was good. Key to the coating adhering is to make sure you dry your chicken pieces well. I've used both whole, cut up chicken, and chicken breasts. Both turned out well. I love how easy it is. Takes but a few minutes to coat the chicken then you forget about it for the next 45 minutes or so while you make some side dishes. I forgot to add that I used regular breadcrumbs because that's all I had. I'm going to make this often.Thanks for a great, quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHSUZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was okay, however the boyfriend enjoyed it. I found it a bit bland, so next time I will season the chicken well. I like a complex taste so I could be just too picky! I coated the chicken with the mix and refrigerated for one hour so the breading would stay on the chicken. Don't cut into the chicken if you can help it as the juices will cause the breading to become soggy and fall off. I also used Miracle Whip spread on with a knife as it is what we had and it was just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is our new favorite! I did not have panko crumbs so I used Asian Honey Sesami coating instead with the soup mix. I did as suggested with other reviewers, I dried the chicken and did pound it. This was very moist and was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
When I need to get dinner in the oven quickly, this is the recipe I'll use! I didn't have onion soup mix, so I used a half packet of italian salad dressing mix and it was so good. I used chicken thighs and drumsticks...so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this per the recipe.... it was moist and flavorful. Very easy to make. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My husband LOVED these, I though they were a little on the salty side, but they were pretty good. We made it with chicken tenders instead of chicken breasts. It was quick and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Haner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The best chicken recipe that I have done in quite a while! Wonderful crisp outside and juicy on the inside. I will be making this often. Thanks 4 sharing Tomas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and it is AMAZING!! So easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States