Onigiri - Japanese Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kai A. Weixelman
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
had a hard time getting the rice to stick, but extremely good recipe. (surprisingly egg salad was great in them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai A. Weixelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I used this recipe several times to make bento for work. I love adding fillings like tuna mayo and chicken mayo to give the onigiri flavor. I am not a fan of the bonito flakes but I also used a mentaiko and mayo filling as well which worked out really well! Thanks for the awesome recipe! I will be using this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuthorMeganMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napoleon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I had trouble forming the triangle shape but im sure with practice I can get it. For my filling I used tuna and mayo and splashed it with a little bit of soy sauce. I didn't have the nori this time. I have not tried these before and it was very delicious. I will make these again and use the nori next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Hildebrand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe! Easy to follow and delicious! I made these for my 14 year old sister who is obsessed with Japanese culture, but won't try sushi. I halved the recipe and made them without the bonito. I was able to make 7 rice balls of various sizes. Plain rice was good, but just needed some soy sauce. I'm looking forward to trying it again with adding something in the middle. Also should mention that I'm 6 months pregnant and really can't eat sushi so this was a good way to curb the sushi craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spazekadet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I used other reviewer suggestions and mixed 1C vinegar/2 TBSP sugar mixture in with the rice before forming it as well as adding soya sauce to the bonito. I found the salt water mixture invaluable to keep the rice from sticking to my hands. At first, I just dipped my fingertips, but dipping my entire hand worked much better. Next time, I am going to try a salmon filling or pickled plums (umeboshi) on at least some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used our rice cooker's sushi setting to make the rice, so I can't speak for those instructions... but we followed everything else in order to make this yummy traditional snack (which I ironically first discovered at the local 7-Eleven's while studying abroad in Beijing!). For the filling: I used drained canned tuna fish mixed with dashi soup stock and Kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese mayo, and yes, it is different). I then topped with roasted sesame seeds and wrapped with nori. I don't think you can really go wrong with proportions here: just experiment until you find your nori size preference! My hubby likes less, I like more. P.S. Using somewhat less than crunchy nori is still okay for this recipe - a definite plus when trying to use up leftover nori from that sushi night a few weeks ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
they are delicious. You should add soy souse to the bonito flakes to make it taste better. However these are SOOO versatile. I make them stuffed with anything you can think of. I have added mushrooms, corn, cheese, you name it. try stuff out to make it your own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Yum! These were really good. We used a rice cooker and put salmon inside instead of fish flakes. Also halved the recipe as suggested by others and still had 8-9 small balls which was plenty. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It was good, and tasted as expected. Only thing was that this turned out to be a lot more than I thought (Made five of them and I hadn't used even half the rice), and I was stuffed after only eating two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
makin this again today.. my toddler loves these.. and sushi.. XD but this is a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States