Onigiri - Japanese Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe! Easy to follow and delicious! I made these for my 14 year old sister who is obsessed with Japanese culture, but won't try sushi. I halved the recipe and made them without the bonito. I was able to make 7 rice balls of various sizes. Plain rice was good, but just needed some soy sauce. I'm looking forward to trying it again with adding something in the middle. Also should mention that I'm 6 months pregnant and really can't eat sushi so this was a good way to curb the sushi craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spazekadet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I used other reviewer suggestions and mixed 1C vinegar/2 TBSP sugar mixture in with the rice before forming it as well as adding soya sauce to the bonito. I found the salt water mixture invaluable to keep the rice from sticking to my hands. At first, I just dipped my fingertips, but dipping my entire hand worked much better. Next time, I am going to try a salmon filling or pickled plums (umeboshi) on at least some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I used our rice cooker's sushi setting to make the rice, so I can't speak for those instructions... but we followed everything else in order to make this yummy traditional snack (which I ironically first discovered at the local 7-Eleven's while studying abroad in Beijing!). For the filling: I used drained canned tuna fish mixed with dashi soup stock and Kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese mayo, and yes, it is different). I then topped with roasted sesame seeds and wrapped with nori. I don't think you can really go wrong with proportions here: just experiment until you find your nori size preference! My hubby likes less, I like more. P.S. Using somewhat less than crunchy nori is still okay for this recipe - a definite plus when trying to use up leftover nori from that sushi night a few weeks ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
they are delicious. You should add soy souse to the bonito flakes to make it taste better. However these are SOOO versatile. I make them stuffed with anything you can think of. I have added mushrooms, corn, cheese, you name it. try stuff out to make it your own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Yum! These were really good. We used a rice cooker and put salmon inside instead of fish flakes. Also halved the recipe as suggested by others and still had 8-9 small balls which was plenty. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
It was good, and tasted as expected. Only thing was that this turned out to be a lot more than I thought (Made five of them and I hadn't used even half the rice), and I was stuffed after only eating two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
makin this again today.. my toddler loves these.. and sushi.. XD but this is a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Thought everyone might want to know. When we make this (learned from my japanese mom), we put the bonito in the middle also. But, my mom puts soy sauce on the flakes first. It kind of melts down, but makes it easier to put in the middle and gives a nice salty kick. I can't imagine eating just plain flakes with out the soy on it. I've never seen it anywhere without the soy and bonito inside. Try some flaked salmon with soy also. That is how I've always seen it or bought in Japan. Also, most of the time she puts msg (or accent) on the outside or gives it a quick shake into the batch when shaping them. Actually, every one on my japanese side does it. I don't think that they has much of a problem with msg as they do here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Making ornigiri was a great way for us to use up extra sushi rice & fillings after we had rolled all the nori sheets that came in a pkg into sushi rolls. Thanks! Now I have lunch for tomorrow,too!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Easy and tasty recipe. I made half quantity, which still produced a good amount. I used 2 cups of rice and 2 1/2 cups of water. I seasoned with salt and put ume (Japanese pickled plum) in the center, then added black sesame seeds and nori to the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States