One Skillet Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Hash was originally a way to use up leftovers and although this recipe is nice (a bit plain) probably best to keep it that way. In a lot of places hash is vinegary - just like barbeque..probably originally the vinegar was, like bbq sauce and hot sauce a way to preserve meat or sometimes make less fresh meat palatable. It's an acquired taste so rather than worry about cooking it off, just moderate the amount to your own taste. Obviously how long you have to cook the potato depends on how small the slice or dice. Although I'd use left over corned beef or chopped up roast beef. Almost any relatively finely chopped lean meat will work well (fatty meats will make it a mess). A cheap round steak finely chopped would work really well as would a prok chop with the fat trimmed. Heck, turkwy makes a fine hash too. I like this recipe becasue you can modify it to what you have on hand and to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
VERY GOOD REECIPE FOR PEOPLE WHOHAVE NEVER MADE CORNED BEEF HASH! But i would seriously recommend adding more potatoes to it as the meat was waaaay to much forthe potatoes.. other thn that, this was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Welch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shandon, California, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
My husband and I really enjoy this. I usually make it with leftover corned beef rather than canned. We like the amount of vinegar and pepper, but I can certainly see why some might prefer less of each. Absolutely heavenly served with a fried egg on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This turned out great. I used leftover corned beef from dinner. I also used pre-cubed potatoes in the salad dept. that were spiced with chipotle bbq. (kind of like Simply Potatoes). I added 1 tsp garlic powder and salt/pepper to taste. I made sure that the potatoes, beef and onion were well browned before I added the vinegar, and if you keep the heat at medium high, then the vinegar will absorb pretty rapidly. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Ooooh, this was good! I had some leftover corned beef so I used that rather than canned (450 cal per serving with canned! OMG!!!). Real corned beef must have fewer calories and fat than canned. (But if you feel the need to correct my nutritional beliefs, please be kind because I want to make this again..). I also heeded some of the reviews and used half of the pepper and vinegar. I was expecting the vinegar to be overpowering, but after 20 minutes it was just right. Don't buy the stuff out of the can...this is soooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
WOW way too much pepper. I didn't need to cook everything that long - I cooked the potatoes for around 5 minutes, then added the corned beef, and after another 10 minutes everything was done. Please make sure your vinegar is cooked out or it will taste sour. You should be able to smell it while cooking and if you can still smell it, it's not totally out! This recipe definitely needed the corn I added. Good though - tried canned Hormel and that was ok, but the recipe was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
A quick and easy dish that I whipped up using ingredients I already had in the cupboard. I added a can of whole kernel corn to add some nutrition and colour to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
This was a great way to use leftover corned beef from St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I used left over Corned beef instead of canned, and my husband loved this quick and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great recipe, we go camping a lot in the summer and I tried this for BF one morning with eggs and toast. Made it almost exactly (except there are only two of us so I halved it) as the recipe called except I didn't measure the pepper or the vinegar. It was very good and makes enough for two breakfasts! Great with soft eggs and toast!! Thank you very much - it's a keeper and will remain with my "regular camping recipes" forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kamsack, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States