One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Great recipe and super easy, I had everything in my cupboards! The recipe calls for way too much salt (come on... 5 TABLESPOONS?! You're kidding right?) so I added about 3 tsp and that was perfect. Next time, I will use 1 Tablespoon of pepper instead of 2; there was too much pepper flavor. I used the Crock Pot to cook this. Cooking on High for about 4 hours should work. Just make sure to check water level constantly, as it dries up much faster than on the stove. I think I ended up using 10 cups of water total, and it was deliscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
UPDATE: Made again with 5 teaspoons salt instead (could still almost use a bit less)- turned out great. Again, just used the food processor and added water until I got the consistency I wanted. Makes quite a lot so I separated into containers and froze some. Was excellent for adding to a quesadilla - lots of versatility and were delicious. With the change to these modifications I now give it 5 stars. This has potential to be a great recipe but TELL me the salt content was a typo? I followed the recipe exactly trusting that 5TBsp salt would somehow mellow out in the beans. It did not. They were WAY too salty and we could not eat them. However, the overall flavor (minus the salt) was great! I did find though that a potato masher was not great for getting them to a creamy consistency, I put them through my food processor and added more water until they were the consistency I was looking for. Next time will try with 5 teaspoons of salt maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These are absolutely declicious - after soaking the beans overnight, which I'd done before finding this recipe, I let mine cook all day in the crockpot and came home to the MOST delicious smell!! They're terrific and I'll bet they'd be good on tortillas, too! Love them thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The amount of salt in this recipe has been corrected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Not only was this super easer, but really good. I probably only used about 2 tsp of salt for the whole pot. I didn't even bother mashing them, just served them as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmy Cole's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made these the other day - I wanted something simple and tasty without the overnight soaking. This recipe really delivered! I halved the recipe to only 8 servings, which is plenty for us. I made only a couple of changes - I used only 3t of salt (and it was plenty!) yellow onion as that is what I had and I used vegetable broth as the initial broth because I did not want an overwhelming 'chicken' flavor. As I added needed liquid - I used half water and half chicken stock, which worked out well. I would give this recipe 5 stars easily, if it did not call for 5T of salt. That is far too much in my opinion - next time I make it, I will even reduce my 3t to 2t as the broth adds some salt. Once the beans were ready, I mashed about 2/3 of the beans with a potato masher, added some shredded Colby Jack, a bit of milk and some hot sauce - served as "refried" without all the extra work and they tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I used the recipe to cook beans to make refried beans. I mainly just followed the measurements. About half way through cooking I had to add about 4 more cups of water because they were getting too dry though they were in my dutch oven. After that I kept cooking them til reduced and they were soft and creamy like restaurant-style refried beans. I used about half the amount of garlic (but next time I'll go ahead and use the full amount) and a whole yellow onion because it was all I had. Instead of adding mozzarella cheese I used 1/3 round "brick" of quesadilla cheese. I sauteed the onion in a tablespoon of bacon grease and 2 teaspoons of cumin, 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika and 1/2 teaspoon of marjoram and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. I used about 2 teaspoons of salt at the beginning and added another teaspoon at the end and for us, that was plenty salty. I'll definitely make this again. I had about 10-12 cups of cooked, refried beans and very little work. You just have to check on it to make sure the beans aren't getting too dry or sticking/scorching. (I read in a review that you should only add hot water/broth to beans after they've started and I did that and my beans were very creamy and smooth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
1 TBSP Salt is adequate. I also add 1/2 lb of bacon. The best beans ever!!! Also I have never gotten to the "add cheese and pico part" just fine without as well. @ TBSP Pepper since they removed that from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I tasted these beans after mashing and decided they were already so delicious, why add the mozzarella & pico de gallo? I halved the recipe, added a chicken bouillon cube, just added salt to taste, and mashed coursely with a potato masher. They still had lots of texutre, but were thick & creamy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very qiuck and easy. Also very economical!!! My family loves it. Thank you. We like ours spicy so I add Cayenne pepper or chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States