One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a very good, easy-to-make bean recipe and leftovers freeze well too. I like that it's not necessary to pre-soak the beans. I made my mother's beans for years but they called for salt pork and these beans are tasty (and healthier) without the pork. I agree with other reviewers that 5 T salt is WAY TOO MUCH! I generally only use 1-2 t, depending whether I add the cheese and or pico de gallo or salsa, as both those ingredients contain salt. I never both to mash them as I think they look better served whole and don't resemble those nasty canned refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
awesome beans! restaurant quality! my new favorite pinto bean recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I loved this! I add some cayenne pepeer- just a little to this. I also cut up some red chilli- also, just a little. What can I say, I like heat! Either way, loved this! Also, used yellow onion since I didn't have any red on hand. I also used none of the optional ingredients. Oh, and I also made a much smaller amount; enough for 1 person since I was only feeding myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This were so good! I followed others suggestions and added a lot less salt. We used left overs the next day by spreading the beans inside a tortilla and adding cheese and home made pico de gallo (use the recipe from this site "Chef Scott's Pico de Gallo). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Followed the directions and found I needed to boil the beans a bit more. Yummy and tasty once cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very qiuck and easy. Also very economical!!! My family loves it. Thank you. We like ours spicy so I add Cayenne pepper or chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made these the other day - I wanted something simple and tasty without the overnight soaking. This recipe really delivered! I halved the recipe to only 8 servings, which is plenty for us. I made only a couple of changes - I used only 3t of salt (and it was plenty!) yellow onion as that is what I had and I used vegetable broth as the initial broth because I did not want an overwhelming 'chicken' flavor. As I added needed liquid - I used half water and half chicken stock, which worked out well. I would give this recipe 5 stars easily, if it did not call for 5T of salt. That is far too much in my opinion - next time I make it, I will even reduce my 3t to 2t as the broth adds some salt. Once the beans were ready, I mashed about 2/3 of the beans with a potato masher, added some shredded Colby Jack, a bit of milk and some hot sauce - served as "refried" without all the extra work and they tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These are absolutely declicious - after soaking the beans overnight, which I'd done before finding this recipe, I let mine cook all day in the crockpot and came home to the MOST delicious smell!! They're terrific and I'll bet they'd be good on tortillas, too! Love them thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Ok so I had made a pumpkin soup a few days ago that had lots of leftovers. So I used that as a base for this. I poured in probably 1-2c pumpkin puree and 7 c water with only 2 packets of condensed chicken broth. Kept adding water as needed. Came out EXCELLENT! Also carmelized the onions and garlic before adding to the pot. My kids can't stand to know they're eating them so this helps them blend in. Very good and very healthy. I intend on playing with this one a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I tasted these beans after mashing and decided they were already so delicious, why add the mozzarella & pico de gallo? I halved the recipe, added a chicken bouillon cube, just added salt to taste, and mashed coursely with a potato masher. They still had lots of texutre, but were thick & creamy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States