One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Left them whole (didn't mash) ---- and definitely didn't use THAT much salt.....as a matter of fact, if you use the chicken broth, that is plenty of salt there. I used some beef broth I had saved from cooking a pot roast in the crockpot the day before. Soaked overnight, and left in crockpot to cook all day on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
1 TBSP Salt is adequate. I also add 1/2 lb of bacon. The best beans ever!!! Also I have never gotten to the "add cheese and pico part" just fine without as well. @ TBSP Pepper since they removed that from the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good. Of course, I used much less salt: 2 tbs. But that was even too much. Next time I will use just 1 tbs. It was also a little spicy for my kids, so I will use less red pepper next time. We just ate the beans straight from the slow cooker sprinkled with a little cheddar. Made a yummy, cheap dinner, and I will freeze the rest of the beans for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2006

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I love this recipe. I did however cut back on the salt and red pepper flakes. I use 2 Tablespoons salt and 1 T red pepper flakes. This works best for my family. I did also add the mozzarella cheese. To me this make the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This is a very good, easy-to-make bean recipe and leftovers freeze well too. I like that it's not necessary to pre-soak the beans. I made my mother's beans for years but they called for salt pork and these beans are tasty (and healthier) without the pork. I agree with other reviewers that 5 T salt is WAY TOO MUCH! I generally only use 1-2 t, depending whether I add the cheese and or pico de gallo or salsa, as both those ingredients contain salt. I never both to mash them as I think they look better served whole and don't resemble those nasty canned refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
awesome beans! restaurant quality! my new favorite pinto bean recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I loved this! I add some cayenne pepeer- just a little to this. I also cut up some red chilli- also, just a little. What can I say, I like heat! Either way, loved this! Also, used yellow onion since I didn't have any red on hand. I also used none of the optional ingredients. Oh, and I also made a much smaller amount; enough for 1 person since I was only feeding myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This were so good! I followed others suggestions and added a lot less salt. We used left overs the next day by spreading the beans inside a tortilla and adding cheese and home made pico de gallo (use the recipe from this site "Chef Scott's Pico de Gallo). I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States