One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious! I used veggie broth and green chiles in place of the chicken broth and pico. I added a little cheese to each bowl and stirred it in instead of adding it to the whole pot. These beans remind me of my favorites from a little Mexican restaurant in CA. I haven't been able to find any recipe that's even close, until I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this with vegan corn bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
since I have made this dish, the recipe has changed (spices and salt have been reduced). Maybe this is worth trying again?? As it was listed before, it was inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
These are so yummy and so easy. I have passed this on to many friends who also love it. And you can mash the beans like she says or you can leave them whole and store them and use in place of canned beans (less BPA in your life:)). We love them and make a batch every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Cooking on the Stove Top, I'd start with more liquid - I found I had to add liquid about three times during cooking. I also threw in a slice of Salt Pork (everything's better with Pork) to help give that pork fat flavor that you would get from frying the cooked beans in lard, like traditional refrito frijoles. It added a very nice flavor - cut way back on the salt, as the salt pork brings salt to the dish anyway. These Beans turned out perfect for homemade nachos - just spoon beans over tortilla chips, with some chopped up grilled fajita meat, spread on the shredded cheese - cheddar or a mexican cheese mix, heat in 400 deg. oven until cheese is melted, serve with plenty of pickled jalapeno slices, sour creme & salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yum. Yum. Yum. I have never made up dry beans before, this recipe was GREAT!! We made it for tacos along with Lime-Cilantro rice. I'm so excited with how this recipe turned out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These are really delicious and quite simple to make. I love serving them with any sort of Mexican dish or using them as a replacement for meat in my tacos. I sometimes add cooked bacon to change the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Amazing! We only made a few minor changes: we used vegetable stock (due to a grocery store error), and didn't mash the beans completely. So very good! Just the right amount of spice to add as a taco side dish, or enchilada teaser. Easy to prepare, and the only real cost is time waiting to simmer, but they require minimal watching. We set the time for every hour, added water twice, and they came out great. Wonderful, delicious recipe recommended to anyone who wants fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is so good. I made fresh pico de gallo and left out the chesse to make it healther. I also added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States