One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I modified this leaving out the cheese and pico and substituting in celery, more garlic, 2 sorento peppers, oregeno, rosemary and mint. The last 3 were fresh from my garden. All simmered for a few hours. Was very tasty and quite spicy. I suspect they are numerous variations that would be tasty. I froze half for future side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was so good and so simple- it totally made my day. I had already started boiling my 2 lb package of pinto beans when I got onto the site to look up recipes. Looked for chili recipes, but found this one. I'm so glad I did! I didn't have red pepper flakes, enough mozzarella cheese or any pico de gallo. Used yellow onion instead of red; Mrs Dash Extra Spicy instead of red pepper flakes; substituted quality pepper jack cheese for mozzarella and added 1/4 c. medium salsa (which probably added nothing- I just didn't want it to get too thin by adding more). I had the chicken broth and garlic on hand and after the cooking time, I used my food processor - this made the best refried beans I have ever eaten in my life. I put 5 two cup containers full in the freezer and have about 4 cups in the frig for the family. I used it for bean burritos last night- really great! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Woohoo! I am notorious for messing beans up and these actually worked! Thanks Runnergirl! PS. I did boil them for a minute and let them soak for an hour and half, drained them, then followed directions...oh ya, and used 1/2 the amount of chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
this is 5 star worthy. i did soak the beans over-night. added verde and mozz cheese at the end. i really hate cilentro,so left out the pico de gallo. i had bought an immersion blender...great way to make 'em. i wish i had doubled this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are a nice change from my regular pinto bean recipe. Very good! I can't figure out why you would want to mash them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very good! I followed the cooking directions exactly except I used a yellow onion and did not add the pico or cheese. I'll make this again and probably adjust the seasoning more to my tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe but beware - it makes a LOT of beans! I used about 1 t salt and 1 t Tony Chachere's More Spice seasoning along with the 1 T red pepper flakes, still needed more salt in the end. I added another 3 C water during cooking process, think it might be good to just start out w/ more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Made them, LOVED them! Didn't mash. Ate like soup. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delicious! I used veggie broth and green chiles in place of the chicken broth and pico. I added a little cheese to each bowl and stirred it in instead of adding it to the whole pot. These beans remind me of my favorites from a little Mexican restaurant in CA. I haven't been able to find any recipe that's even close, until I found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I made this with vegan corn bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Price

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States