One-Pot Hamburger Adobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was really good. I made the recipe with a few changes. I cooked the veggies first and removed them. Then I cooked the meat. When the meat was browned I added the veggies back in. I then added a couple of Tbls flour and mixed that around.Then I added a couple of cups of beef broth and stirred to make a gravy. Then added the rest of the seasonings. I cooked up some elbow macaroni and added that. The family loved it and so did I. The flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII0988

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe called to me b/c the ingredients sounded like just about everything that I put into a Cottage Pie (minus the mashed potato topping.) Once it was prepared (exactly as written, w/ the minor exception of more green bell pepper than red), I was disappointed to find that it tasted like a vinegar-ey, sugar-ey hamburger stir-fry. My husband gave it a 4 (although he stuffed his servings into a warmed tortilla w/ salsa and cheese), my 3-year old wouldn't touch it, and I gave it a 1, so we'll settle for 2 stars. Perhaps w/ some substantial changes that would either turn it into more of an actual stir-fry, or into a Cottage Pie, I would've enjoyed it more, but as written, I just couldn't shake the over-powering taste of vinegar and sugar. Thanks for giving me a chance to try something new though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was yummy. I was looking for a recipe that used ground beef a different way than the norm, and I loved it! My husband liked it too. We didn't have green beans, but I thought it was excellent just how we made it. Great recipe. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FandMR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent recipe and scrumptious. I made it without the jalapeno and green beans, but added some Tabasco sauce to give it the extra bit of flavor. Very satisfying meal. Next time I'll serve it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great meal! Very filling. Wasn't sure if it was just going to taste like wet meat when I first put it all in the pot, but it turned out wonderful! Very flavorful. I probably put in more vegetables and more worcestershire than it called for. Will make it again. So simply, quick, my husband devoured it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Loved this dish for its flavor and one pot ease. I substituted ground turkey for beef, cut the sugar in half and omitted the broccoli and green beans. Served it with white rice. Now that I have tasted it I think the broccoli would work well or even cauliflour but would leave out green beans due to personal taste. Will add this to my go to recipes for weeknight dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I followed the advice of other readers and added flour and beef broth and served with yellow rice. The family thought it was great. I also added mushrooms which gave it a new texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
What a tasty way to incorporate loads of great veggies into dinner! I did double the sauce, I like things very saucy. Made some quinoa as a side, flavored with beef bouillon, apple cider vinegar, soy sauce, & Worcestershire sauce... the whole family devoured it and loved it. The only complaint I got was that it was too spicy- it was from my sister who is a baby anyway! Will definitely be making this meal again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe. My constant complaint about my own cooking is it all tastes the same -- but not a problem with this recipe! I made changes based on my tastes and the veggies I had to use (only 1/2 of the meat, asparagus instead of green beans, kernels from a leftover ear of corn, 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper instead of jalapeno and no sugar). I also appreciate this being a one-pot meal and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
The picture alone caught my attention. I wanted to find something different to cook and this looked fabulous. Since I am feeding a house of 7, I thought it wouldn't be enough so I put it on rice. Absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States