One-Pan Taco Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is really good. I used brown rice instead of white. One large onion and 3 cloves of garlic were also added. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, so I added a can of diced tomatoes. We were out of lettuce, so I threw in a hand full of frozen peas, for color. Water chestnuts might also be good in this dish. It's just something different than the same old meat and noodles casserole. My husband liked it wrapped in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a nice change. I added a can of diced tomatoes, some corn, and a can of black beans to make in more filling. Both the kids and husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe is an excellent base and you can go almost anywhere with it. I changed a few things to make it suit my husband and my tastes. As my husband is a vegetarian, we used veggie mince instead of ground beef. I cooked this is a packet of taco seasoning mix to give it added flavor. I used 3 cups of rice instead of 2 and waited until the rice was cooked before I added the cheese. I also added about a half a can of corn and a small can of sliced black olives. I added some medium salsa as well to brighten it up. It was great with tortilla chips! So easy! Will add this to our dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was super good and easy. My kids loved it wrapped in tortillas liked a burrito. And the adults liked it over lettuce. I used slow cooking rice and cooked it in my rice cooker first, and then added it to the ground beef and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Simple and tasty, although it was lacking a little something. My husband and I couldn't put our finger on it. We will make again though, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
It was good next time I will use a little more seasoning. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forest Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I've made this twice now and both times it was just OK. Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Add a can of corn at the end and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Primo. For a one-pan dinner in 15 minutes, this recipe is hard to beat. I took some of the advise offered by other raters and jazzed it up with onions, black beans, salsa and a dab of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This looks great I usually make enough brown rice for two meals. This would make a great way to reuse the second half of rice. I'm going to use some shredded chicken this time around but I don't see why you can't use pork either. My husband only likes cooked tomatoes so I'll use canned for speed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Martin Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: East York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States