One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
After I beat this icing for 3 minutes, I noticed it was thickening a lot as it cooled..it even slowed my electric mixer down. As soon as it hit the cake it hardened like a rock, and was completely unspreadable. I tried broiling it to warm it to spreading consistency, and of course it burned and I had to scrape every bit of it off. I ended up heating some blueberry jam (the only thing I could find, as I had used the last of my sugar up in this icing) and spread that on top of my scarred cake as a glaze. Perhaps if more milk was added next time? Not sure I want to risk the loss of another cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Instead of using as a frosting, I punched holes in a sheet cake and poured over while it was stille hot. I also punched holes so chocolate could seep through. I recommend doubling recipe for this. Makes a wonderful cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
easy prep, excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
VERY VERY easy, but a bit rich, over all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Not bad, I think it would be good on brownies, not the best on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
excellent! They made the not-so perfect rolled out sugar cookies taste OK. It hardens nicely, is easy to make, and tastes good =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Very sweet and chocolaty, but way too hard an icing for cake. I won't be making this again, it simply ruined my beautiful scratch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
I was looking for a fudgy icing for brownies. This wouldn't work on a cake at all, but it was great on our brownies. The icing did set up quickly but it was no problem since I was pouring/spreading on a pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I did a trial run of this icing last night to see if it would be good to frost brownies. I loved the consistency and mine did not harden as others have mentioned. I added some shredded coconut and used Hershey's Dutch Processed Cocoa. This was very yummy eaten with a spoon! Thanks Sandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
I made this before my cake came out of the oven and by the time my cake was ready, the icing had set up to a fudge consistency. I put it on top of the hot cake to see if it would melt and it didn't. So I scooped it up and microwaved it until it bubbled and then spread it quickly on my cake. It set up to a great fudge topping. It tasted excellent on my devils food cake. I would recommend cooking it once the cake is out and ready and then pouring it over the cake before it gets to thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States