One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I am not sure about this recipe. I made this to go on my chocolate cake, as I didn't want to drive in the pouring down rain to get my usual frosting ingrediants. I definetly doubled the recipe. after I got it to boil I stirred it for the 1 minute. I then proceded to use my mixer for over 3 min. so I put the suace pan into a bowl of ice water to cool it faster.After several more minutes it began to thicken.My cake was completely cooled before I began spreading it on. The icing was still very thin. by the time i finished icing the cake the icing was thickening alot. i guess its very heavy icing since the middle of my cake started to cave in a little bit. this recipe is a winner. let it cool way down before decorating cake. everyone loved it on the hersheys perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
AMAZING! This is by far the best chocolate frosting recipe I have used! I usually make a classic chocolate buttercream frosting, but I was out of powdered sugar and decided to give this a try. It was super rich and chocolatey, totally delicious. It complemented my Texas sheetcake wonderfully! But, I did add an extra teaspoon of vanilla and cut back on the cocoa a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Awesome!! A NO CORN recipe that is better than any other chocolate icing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Pros: I followed others' recommendations (cook longer; wire whisk; frost right away) which helped. The sugar definitely needs more than a minute to melt. Cons: recipe as given is "gag me"sweet. I will use much less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla JJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Has a nice shiny gloss to it when it sets and has a deep chocolate flavor to it. Satisfied my cravings for chocolate completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I added a generous scoop of peanut butter to this icing and poured it over krispy squares.. big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was such a great frosting! Like others, I poured it over my cooled cake directly from the pot, without using the electric mixer. It leaves such a beautiful gloss over the cake. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla and it had amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is a nice and easy icing that gives your dessert a glossy, dark chocolate finish. Because I wanted to drizzle it on cream puffs, I didn't beat it very long as the recipe requested which worked out very well. The only downside is I wish it had been a little sweeter but everyone still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Delicious, just as described. I doubled the recipe, poured it over a 9x11 chocolate cake and it was a hit. Pour fast because it cools quickly. Love the shine of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this recipe to go with a chocolate cake I had baked and it was the perfect touch. I have not had much success with icings in the past, but this was quick and easy and turned out great. I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy Park

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States