One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The end result of this icing was absolutely perfect. I made it to top off the Tiramisu Cheesecake (also on this AR site) that had chilled in the fridge for a few hours. It spread perfectly to the edges, and set up nicely. You can obviously adjust the amount of milk to suit the consistency you're looking for. Next time, I might try a liqueur in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
not sweet enough. Great if you like dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was so so so easy, yummy and beautifully shiny and smooth. I almost didn't' want to put it on my cake, just eat it out of the bowl instead! I halved the recipe and used it for an 8x8 lemon cake. I boiled for a minute, took it off of the heat and whisked it until it was the right consistency. Make sure you don't boil a second too long or it will harden too much when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as written. If you like homemade cocoa fudge as icing, this one is for you. It is not creamy - it is fudgy. It sets up quickly and becomes difficult to spread. You must be looking for the consistency of fudge to like this icing. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this for my chocoalte layer cake (with mousee between the layers, yum). I read alot of reviews before making this, and decided to use a wire whisk after taking it off the heat. It really does thicken fast as it cools..so after about 3 mins of just whisking it i poured it over my cake right in the middle, and let it run all around. The end result was a little different then i imagined, i guess i was thinking it would turn out like a ganache, but it just turned into some gooey sticky fudge like sauce,which did harden at least. It is super tasty and i probably WILL be making this again, maybe ontop of brownies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made this recipe today couldn't be easier you just have to beat till its starts to thicken it will still be quite warm and not real thick I put it on my still warm cake poured it on spread with a spoon while pouring it worked great looks great & best of all it tastes wonderful. thanks a bunch for this great recipe!! I fallowed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was the most disgusting thing I have ever EATEN!!! I made a batch and I just couldn't stomach the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Easy and works well with the Too Much Chocolate Cake along with the Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe. Mine didn't set that fast but it still tastes great. Had to boil a little longer to make sure all of the sugar melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a great tasting icing, very fudgy and not too sweet! I used it on a cake right after I beat it for the 3 min so it was still really warm. It is runny so it's great if you don't want the icing to be thick. It sets up as it cools and has a wonderful sheen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States