One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Very similar to my grandmother's recipe for boiled fudge frosting. It turned out perfectly and is incredibly easy, recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This frosting is wonderful! Be sure to double or triple the recipe for a layer cake as this was only enough to top two layers (I like to be generous with frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRGeep

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
PROS: This icing is delicious, glossy and doesn't need powdered sugar. CONS: It sets up fast if you even slightly overboil it (like spreading grainy fudge!) If that starts to happen, beat in some more milk. Also, it doesn't make a lot so you may want to double it if you need more frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Take note of the picture and the fact that the base of this recipe is normal sugar that is cooked, which would make the consistency more of a ganache, or a glaze then a fluffy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Please add 2 Tablespoons of light corn syrup at the beginning. It gives you something for the sugar to bind with but not form crystals. Let the boiled mixture sit off the burner for 5 minutes undisturbed. Moving it too soon sets off the crystallization phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
The taste was ten stars. I never could spread it even after doubling the mlk. Sure enjoyed eating it right out of the bowl though. Tastes just like hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
when making this icing you don't just dump everything into the pot. You melt the butter first over medium low heat then add the cocoa. Then the milk, vanilla, and sugar. Turn the heat up to medium and stir constantly. When it begins to bubble around the edges turn the heat off and keep stirring for 1 minute. Then beat the icing until it just starts to stiffen. Use the icing immediately as it will harden. If it hardens before you are done icing put a splash of milk in and beat it again, just until its soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sburgos03
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
It was amazing! I need a chocolate frosting recipe that did not use powdered sugar as I have none and this works out perfectly. When it came off the stove I whisked until it started to thicken and poured it onto of the cake. While it was making its way to the edges I helped it along with my finger. The shine is incredible and the cake tastes delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This icing set up like concrete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this icing to put on small chocolate bundt cakes. This worked perfectly, set up well and had a pretty glossy finish. I have made this twice now and they only complaint is that it's a little bitter and not that sweet, oddly. The next time that I make it, I will add maybe a 1/4 cup more sugar and cut back on the cocoa. Otherwise, this worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States