One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
when making this icing you don't just dump everything into the pot. You melt the butter first over medium low heat then add the cocoa. Then the milk, vanilla, and sugar. Turn the heat up to medium and stir constantly. When it begins to bubble around the edges turn the heat off and keep stirring for 1 minute. Then beat the icing until it just starts to stiffen. Use the icing immediately as it will harden. If it hardens before you are done icing put a splash of milk in and beat it again, just until its soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sburgos03
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
It was amazing! I need a chocolate frosting recipe that did not use powdered sugar as I have none and this works out perfectly. When it came off the stove I whisked until it started to thicken and poured it onto of the cake. While it was making its way to the edges I helped it along with my finger. The shine is incredible and the cake tastes delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This icing set up like concrete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I made this icing to put on small chocolate bundt cakes. This worked perfectly, set up well and had a pretty glossy finish. I have made this twice now and they only complaint is that it's a little bitter and not that sweet, oddly. The next time that I make it, I will add maybe a 1/4 cup more sugar and cut back on the cocoa. Otherwise, this worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This so good it is like fudge in first but in the end oh my god!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desserts is hart hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made four batches of this frosting to cover 2 sheet pans of peanut butter bars, I didn't beat it after it came to a boil just poured it over the bars and smoothed with an offset spatula, it harden nicely within a short period of time, very fudgy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
The only things I changed was to add a tad more milk and I only beat mixture for about a minute or so. It had a great smooth consistency and poured easily over the chocolate bunt cake that my daughter and I made. I'm going to make this and use it as an ice-cream topping too, I think it would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I have been looking for a chocolate icing that you cook. This one is GREAT! Easy, quick, and very tasty. I followed the directions exactly. I would recommend you try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Loved this recipe.. It's a good substitute for ganache.. I used 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1/4. Didn't need to beat the mixture. I actually poured it warm on warm chocolate cake.. it was simple delish & btw.. tasted even better the next day after the flavors married. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe! Does get very thick as mentioned in other reviews. Placed in bowl with ice water to cool while beating. Added 1T of softened cream cheese as it started thickening. Then plopped an ice cube in and kept beating until about halfway gone. Icing was perfect and mixer survived. Able to pipe and spread. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States