One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Gina, thank you so much for posting a review that led me to this recipe! Wonderfully delicious! These are a hit and will be made often! You have made my staff very happy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
These are delicious and can be made with regular Devil's Food cake mix, if you don't have German chocolate handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
wonderful...delicious..great...wonderful, delecious, great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were WONDERFUL! I agree with most readers, that the cooking time should be increased. Also, next time I bake it I plan on decreasing the butter by 1/4C as I always feel guilty baking such a decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was the biggest hit of the night. Everyone kept raving about them! I did use pecans instead of walnuts because they are the better nut!! So, so easy to make up. I melted my carmels with the milk, in the microwave. I did it the first couple of times for one minute each, stirring after each one. When I could see it melting more, I only put it in for 30 seconds at a time, stirring after each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
OOOMMMMGGGG THIS IS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!!! My husband is a HUGE german chocolate and caramel fan so he LOVES this!! I bought the german chocolate frosting and put it on top, VERY GOOD!!! I did cook it 6 min the first time then 20 minutes and it got slightly burnt on the top, maybe 6 min and 15 min would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
this had fantastic flavor. Very Rich, very delicious but yes, the cooking time isnt right. I think next time I need to add 10 minutes next time - mine came out too gooey and had to dish it out with a spoon instead of cut into bars (but we still ate it!) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
People at work LOOOOVED these turtle-like brownies!! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I have made several slices in the last couple of days and this one rates as my husbands favorite. How can you go wrong with chocolate chips, caramel and nuts? I did bake it the extra 5 minutes as was suggested in several reviews. It will be a repeat here many times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is very similar to a recipe that I've been making for years (Turtle Brownies) with the cooking times being just a bit different: the first half of the cake batter is baked for 6 minutes (then the caramels & stuff are layered on) and then final assembled pan is baked for an additional 20 minutes. It's delicious & decadent...and meant to be chewy & soft. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States