One Hundred Percent Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
after stirring it all,does not look anything like a dough. It's more crumbs and small and medium size pebbles,I could not make it come together. One star only, but it could be my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
i used the normal bread machine method and it didnt work. i had to help the mixing along and add more water, and it turned out hardly risen, dense, hard as a rock.:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
the ratios of ingredients in the recipe were all wrong. Bread machine could not mix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
i used 4 cups rye and 1 cup AP flour because i had no gluten. followed everything else to a T. first rise didn't do much, so after 1 1/2 hours, i kneaded it some more; at this stage it was quite "brick" like as others have stated. after working it for a minute or two, i set it for its second rise. it finally rose to an acceptable level. i then baked it off. the end results were a crispy outer crust and a gummy inside. since i am not a bread maker, and did not follow exactly, i find this to my fault. the only one who liked it was my DD. i'm afraid she is going to have to eat the whole loaf...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I was really hungry for a rye bread and this one looked pretty good acording to the reviews. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a brick, same as another reviewer. Since others have had obvious success, I still gave this a four star. I thought it may have not risen because of my yeast, however I made another recipe and the yeast worked perfectly. Maybe Lisa could share what type (brand) of rye flour she uses? I used Hodgson Mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I thought that this turned out really well. The bread was very light and fluffy. I don't know what the guy that said his was a brick, maybe he didn't use the right recipe? A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I tried to make this bread two days ago. It was the worst cooking experience I have ever had. The "dough" was not dough, but more like concrete. I don't know what happened, because I followed the recipe to the letter. When I stirred the ingredients, they became a solid, firm mass that could barely be pressed in with my hands. I used rye flour from Cobblestone Mill. Perhaps it was not the right kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Wow! I have never been a big rye bread fan until now. I made this for my honey who loves rye bread and now we both do. I have made twice,adding extra gluten, bread machine yeast, and water, honey/molassas (substituted honey for half the molassas) and butter (instead of shortening) (was Way too dry to form dough ball and properly knead without). Even with all these substitutions/additions, it comes out fantastically! Wonderful crunchy crust, very nice texture, can slice very thinly without crumbling, and makes great toast. This is my current favorite bread even though the dough is so heavy that during the kneading cycles of my Sunbeam machine, I have to stand and hand turn the dough ball. When cooked,it is not too heavy. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Fantastic! I've been wheat free for over two weeks and I was beginning to think I'd never have soft, fluffy bread again! What a treat to find this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
We really enjoyed this recipe. Threw 2 cups flour and everything else in the kitchenaid. Didn't have any caraway seed, so omitted that. Because it's so dry where we live, I added the rest of the rye flour until the dough was nice and soft but not too sticky. Then I hand kneaded the dough for a few minutes. Nice dense loaf, can be cut thinly without crumbling. Have made many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States