One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I double the recipe to put it in a bundt pan and i made a lemon glaze and a drizzle. Every one wants me to make them this cake. Also instead of the lemon extract i use about 5 tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was an amazing cake!!! I will make this many many times to come. I changed minimal ingredients... I used half and half instead of milk, "I can't believe it's not butter" instead of real butter and added the zest of one lemon and the juice of half a lemon. It turned out so moist and lemony that it was gone before it ever cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a bad recipe, I followed the recipe and it turned out like cornbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLitterbox101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very easy to make. Doubled the recipe, used a bundt cake pan, and baked an hour. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
used for a wedding cake with great success and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
i had to double the recpie.I also used orange zest+juice instead of lemons and also made an orange syrup.It was awesome I'm going to make a blood orange+ a grapefruit one eventually...but next i'm making a key lime one substitutioning half the milk for cream cheese...wish me luck on the last one...fiances bday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well I followed the direction, exactly for a change. Cooked for 1 hour like most people suggested, I have a convection oven, used a toothpick and well I got a sloppy mess! even the parts that were cooked had a less than desirable texture. I'm going to try a different recipe, for the same thing and see if I get a real pound cake. I will add a photo as well,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i liked this cake, i didn't have lemon extract so i used orange extract and used two teaspoons. it did take a little longer to cook than stated.will make again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
It's a good recipe if you're out of eggs! I felt the need to upgrade it: I gave up the lemon essence (natural stuff is better by far!) & added 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice + rind.Instead of milk I used 1 cup orange juice + rind + 1 tbsp honey + 5 mashed dates + 1 finely grated carrot. I used wholemeal flour + 1 tsp baking powder + some crushed almonds. I made muffins instead of cake and they were yummy as well as healthy (my kids took them to school)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessKiwi07
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just okay to me and my family. Like others said it needs more lemon, and it bakes for an hour, my mom suggested putting a glaze on top. Also mine came out a little crumbly, but with a little TLC this could be a five star pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States