One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by PrincessKiwi07
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just okay to me and my family. Like others said it needs more lemon, and it bakes for an hour, my mom suggested putting a glaze on top. Also mine came out a little crumbly, but with a little TLC this could be a five star pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except I put 2 teaspoons of lemon extract in the mixture and I still really couldn't taste the lemon flavor. Also, the directions say to bake for 30 minutes but it ended up taking more like an hour before the middle was completely cooked so make sure to do the toothpick test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
this is the best pound cake recipe I have found so far. following suggestions from others, I baked it for 50 mins. and it turned out just right. I prefer less lemon taste so I only added vanilla extract. Great with fresh Northwest berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Like the others, i used lemon juice and tasted better, also the cake cooked around an hour to have a crusty top. This recipe is very simple, i've repeated it several times and my kids loved it everytime....thanks for this fantastic easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
The best pound cake I've ever made or even eaten! I nixed the milk and lemon extract, and substituted fresh-squeezed lemon juice (same amount as milk), and zested the lemons used. I've made it twice already, and gotten raves each time- once from my uber-picky brother-in-law, and again from my impossible-to-please mother-in-law. Lemony, light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
this recipe looks great, I love pound cake but dont want the pounds on me.Is there a way to make this recipe with splenda and will it be just as good?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I added lemon zest. It was very good and as others mentioned, takes 50 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This recipe makes an excellent pound cake in my estimation...there's just not enough lemon flavour to justify its name. That's the only reason for four stars instead of 5. I added lemon zest to the batter; then drizzled a lemon juice/sugar solution over the fresh-out-of-the-oven cake and the lemon flavour was still very subtle. However, that being said, this is still an excellent pound cake and I won't hesitate to use this recipe again. By the way, I didn't cut in the butter as per instructions. I creamed the butter with sugar & egg, added the extracts, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the milk. Took about 50 minutes until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for. I have now made it twice and my kids and bf loved it. It took longer than 30 minutes to bake though - more like 45-50. The second time, I added one cup of frozen cranberries for extra tartness. Easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
It's really a great cake! it did take 50 minutes to bake but it's really yummy. I couldn't wait to taste it warm out of the oven this will be great with strawberries or a cup of coffee! thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manteno, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States