One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I baked this in mini (like 4x6ish) loaf pans and it came out great nice and fluffy. It tastes more like an angel food cake than a pound cake, but that's cool, i like angel food cake a lot too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I am giving this 4 stas because it was so simple to make and very good. It was,however, more like a quick bread than a cake - hence, the instructions for cutting in the butter. I noticed some people decided to beat the butter with the sugar, as they would with a cake but I found it worked fine as written. Keep in mind that this method requires a light hand (as in making biscuits) so if you cut in the butter, I would recommend making a well for the wet ingredients and mixing only until blended. I did add a sugar and lemon juice glaze as recommended by another user and this did add a nice lemon flavour. Good recipe - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I think next time I would like to try a recipe with equal proportions of the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
followed the recipe and found lacking flavor (i made one with lemon extract and another with orange). it also took 70 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lance siebel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I was disappointed that there wasn't more lemon flavor to this cake. Next time I make it I might try using fresh lemon juice or making a lemon glaze to pour over it. Outside of that, it was good just not excellent. I had to bake mine for 55 minutes before it was done which is normal for a pound cake. The writer must have intended this recipe for a convection oven with the 30-minute directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Not spectacular but not terrible either. I substituted lemon juice(3tblp) for the lemon extract(1tsp), maybe that affected it more than I thought it would because it wasn't very lemony at all. It took about 65 minutes for it to be baked all the way through, and since it was a very pale loaf I brushed it with a little melted butter before the last 15mins of baking. I also made an easy lemon glaze which I poured a bit on while it was still warm in the hopes it would sink into the cake a bit and the rest on when it was cooled. Not a bad cake but not a great one either, however if I am ever looking to make a pound cake when I don't have many eggs I would likely make this again. My fiance seems to have enjoyed it quite a lot, so maybe it's just me :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susieq624
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I used one member's recommendation to use cake flour instead of all purpose. It was so moist! I cut the sugar in half so it wasn't too sweet. I baked it for about 35 minutes. It turned out just right for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I'm not reviewing this recipe for the lemoniness of it but for the actual cake recipe. I wanted to make a ound cake and only hade enough eggbeaters left to equal a little over 1 egg so this recipe was what I needed. I did 1 1/2 times recipe for 1 9 by 5 loaf also. I skipped the whole lemon idea and used butter, vanilla, and almond extracts instead. Baked 70-75 mins and it was very spongey and delicious. Will keep in my recipebook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was so thick it crawled up my beaters. It said to POUR the batter,I had to add 3/4 cup more milk to it and was not done in 30 mins either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was very easy to make. I didn't have any lemon juice so I used some orange with mango and it tasted great. I made cupcakes instead of a loaf and it went in very quickly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States