One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a simple and fantastic recipe! I agree with some of the other reviews; you should add more flavoring than called for in the recipe. I also add a lemon glaze on top that really sets it off! Consistency is the key with this cake, and it is one of the most consistent I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleyfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Good loaf. This "cake' was not dense enough to be considered a "Pound Cake" but was quite nice. I enjoyed it a lot. (3 stars for improper designation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very easy, quick to prepare recipe. I had to bake mine for quite a bit longer, but I also added a cup of frozen cranberries to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iliketocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The cake was delicious. I had no lemon extract so I added about 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon zest. Had to add more milk as the batter was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used this today and it turned out very well. I did add more milk than it called for because the batter was almost like biscuit dough. Very easy and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake was easy to make but I have a problem with the salt taste after it finish baking. I think the one teaspoon is to much. I will make it again but the salt will be reduce or eliminated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I agree with the other reviews, this cake definately needs some more lemon. I would recommend adding some lemon zest and definately a glaze. I used 1 cup confectioners sugar and 1 3/4 tbsp lemon juice as recommended in another review but added a little lemon zest to give it even more zing. I 1-1/2ed this recipie for my larger loaf pan and it took 70 minutes to bake. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kermitt53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I baked this in mini (like 4x6ish) loaf pans and it came out great nice and fluffy. It tastes more like an angel food cake than a pound cake, but that's cool, i like angel food cake a lot too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I am giving this 4 stas because it was so simple to make and very good. It was,however, more like a quick bread than a cake - hence, the instructions for cutting in the butter. I noticed some people decided to beat the butter with the sugar, as they would with a cake but I found it worked fine as written. Keep in mind that this method requires a light hand (as in making biscuits) so if you cut in the butter, I would recommend making a well for the wet ingredients and mixing only until blended. I did add a sugar and lemon juice glaze as recommended by another user and this did add a nice lemon flavour. Good recipe - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States