One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
this was heavy and ended up tasting more like a corn muffin. would probably be good as muffins with fresh fruit. i won't try making a less ingredient pound cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherwhited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe actually took 55 minutes to cook, not 30. I added a lemon glaze frosting over it, which gave it some flavor. Without it, I wouldn't have even been able to taste any hint of lemon in this lemon pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not at all sensational. I guess it's okay for what it is: emergency dessert when you are in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a simple and fantastic recipe! I agree with some of the other reviews; you should add more flavoring than called for in the recipe. I also add a lemon glaze on top that really sets it off! Consistency is the key with this cake, and it is one of the most consistent I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleyfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Good loaf. This "cake' was not dense enough to be considered a "Pound Cake" but was quite nice. I enjoyed it a lot. (3 stars for improper designation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very easy, quick to prepare recipe. I had to bake mine for quite a bit longer, but I also added a cup of frozen cranberries to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iliketocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The cake was delicious. I had no lemon extract so I added about 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon zest. Had to add more milk as the batter was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used this today and it turned out very well. I did add more milk than it called for because the batter was almost like biscuit dough. Very easy and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake was easy to make but I have a problem with the salt taste after it finish baking. I think the one teaspoon is to much. I will make it again but the salt will be reduce or eliminated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States