One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this cake several times. It does have to cook longer than stated (45 min. for me), but it is excellent, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used this recipe to make gluten free vegan orange cupcakes. Swap all purpose for your favorite GF blend flour and OJ instead of milk, shortening for butter, 1/3 cup applesauce for the egg and its an allergy friendly treat for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe =) Nice and moist, and good for cupcakes too. The only modification that I make is adding 3 tsp of lemon essence into the cake batter, rather than 1 tsp (as we prefer the flavor to be stronger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This cake is delicious ! I used a gluten free all purpose flour. You can use 1 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp lemon extract to make up for the "pasty" flavor some gluten free flours have. I always top my poundcakes off with a powdered sugar glaze....this cake is a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The cake was yummy. I added some chopped candied cherries to the recipe for color. Lighter option to the typical pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This cake is amazing, especially with a lemon glaze or vanilla frosting! Especially if you have trouble keeping eggs stocked in the fridge, I go through them faster than anything else I use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenallaDrone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I started making this before I realized I was out of lemon extract. I used 1/8 tsp or so of sweet orange oil instead and it was fantastic. (I just added a little bit at a time and then tasted the batter until it was orangey enough) It took about an hour to bake, but it came out perfectly. I added a lemon glaze made from pwd sugar and lemon juice, and served this at a cookout. Everyone loved it, both kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
good texture, not too heavy but not light either. since i like a lemony cake, i reduced the milk to 3/4 cup and replaced with 1/4 cup lemon juice. i also put in the rind of 2 lemons. the cake was then lemony when it came out of the oven. but since i wanted it even more tart, i poured over some lemon juice+icing sugar mixture on top (juice of 2 lemons, then 4 to 5 tsp of icing sugar). i used trim milk to lessen the fat. next time i will also reduce the butter and see how that will go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Not a bad recipe. I creamed the butter and sugar first, then added the egg and stirred it good, then the other moist ingredients, then added the dry to that. Also, I used 1/2 tbs of vanilla extract and the juice of one lemon (about 1/4 cup), no lemon extract because I didn't have any. It could've used a little more lemon juice probably, but it turned out good. I baked it for 50 min. and I coated the pan with sugar before pouring the batter in, and sprinkled sugar on top before baking- gave it a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Added lemon zest and did the glaze as suggested by another poster. Still didn't have enough lemon flavour for my taste but it was good none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States