One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The recipie needs a lot of work to be able to produce a good pound cake. I reduced salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, cream the butter with the sugar first, then milk/eggs, then drys. I used 2 tsp lemon extract and could barely taste it - use more! I baked for 55 minutes (toothpick finally clean) and the cake turned out dry and crumbly. Definitely use a lemon glaze. I am going to try this recipie again and will revise my review later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I really liked the texture of this cake. However It was not lemony at all. I made a glaze for it using the juice from 1 lemon, and 1 cup of icing sugar, I brushed it all over and it melted into the cake. This made it very delicious. I also used the left-over glaze and drizzled it on a slice before serving. Everyone enjoyed it this way. When I make it again I will also add some lemon zest to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I thought this had no taste what so ever! It didn't even have a lemon taste to it and I put more than what the recipe called for.I gave this three stars because my three year old son and husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I added lemon zest and juice from one lemon as other reviewers did, which punched up the flavor considerably. However this loaf took MUCH longer than 1/2 hr to cook, more like an hour. It rose nicely in the oven, but when I took it out it fell considerably and became a condensed lemon puck! I think it might have something to do with the cutting in of the butter and not creaming the sugar and butter together?? What other cake/loaf recipie cuts in butter? Too many changes are needed to make this recipie worthwhile - I would suggest trying another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Great texture and VERY easy to make. I also used 1 1/2 recipe to fill a 9x5 loaf pan and it baked about 70 minutes. I found it had a little too much salt and would have liked more lemon flavor. Added lemon zest and next time will add more and maybe some lemon juice. Could change the extract to almond, toss in some mini choc chips and have a totally different yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I have made this about 5 times now but I add about three tablespoons of poppyseeds. My mother-in-law says they taste just like what she used to get back home in Austria. Definately not as heaving as a pound cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This recipe works best for muffins! I used the same ingredients, but first mixed the flour, b.powder & salt. Then, separately, I creamed the sugar and butter and added the rest of the ingredients to this. I then folded in the dry ingredients to the wet. They made 12 muffins and cooked in 27 minutes. I also added a lemon glaze on top, and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was quite good and simple to make. It was moist and lemony. I added poppyseed to give it that extra special poppyseed taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was ok...I too had to cook it much longer (1 hour & 15 minutes). I added poppy seeds. It rose nicely, but was a little too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Good recipe- I made 1 and a half the ingredients because I had a bigger loaf pan (9" by 5") and then cooked it for 1 hour and 10 mins. I also used cake flour (made the cake light and fluffy) but had no lemon essence so used one lemon and some zest of the lemon. This may not have been enough lemon for me but as I also made a lemon syrup to pour on the cake straight after it came out of the oven (see previous reviews), this really zinged up the lemon flavour. It was GREAT!!! and I will definitely make this cake again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States